64

4.0 based on 64 customer reviews

30
18
6
5
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pros/Cons

MDR-XB950N1 22 July 2017 by MWFV (USA)

Noise cancelling is better on the X1000s, but the XB950N1s sound better for the types of music I enjoy, and invoke more of an emotional response. Tons of bass even w/o enabling "the bass effect" button. X1000s also have a LOT less background hiss when no music is playing compared to the XB950N1s. I prefer the buttons on the XB950N1s over the swipe controls on the X1000s, but the "hand for ambient noise" feature the X1000s offer is awesome and much missed with these. The X1000s are also slightly more comfortable than the XB950N1s, but neither are as light or comfortable as the QC35s. The Bose QC35s are a great all around headphone, but of the three mentioned I've kept the XB950N1s around to keep. The bass output and overall headroom are perfect for pop, hip hop, EDM and other contemporary styles. I hope someday Sony elects to combine some of the features of the X1000s w/ the sound profile of the XB950N1s, and the light weight and comfort of the QC35 - they would have a killer on their hands!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

really great and easy to use

MDR-XB950N1 12 June 2017 by dannipie (USA)

the design is really cool looking and looks a little funny on me, but thats fine. Anyway is sounds really good and the bass is really booming on this thing. The only problem is the noise leaking, its very loud even when u put pressure on them to hear for yourself. thats the only thing i dislike, i dont like when i hear other peoples music so this will worry me a bit when i go out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

67 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 21 April 2018 by Ricku (USA)

Best wireless headphones that I've have ever owned

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB950N1 21 April 2018 by Joelw291 (United Kingdom)

Very good sounding, clear with lots of bass and good noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delicious sound

MDR-XB950N1 20 April 2018 by Audidryver (United Kingdom)

These are very well designed and made headphones which are comfortable to wear. The sound is good too - taut bass, clear mid-range with a wide soundstage. The noise cancelling is effective too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just - Wow!

MDR-XB950N1 01 April 2018 by Handy_Man (USA)

These headphones have great features, especially the Noice Canceling function! When this feature is On it's really cool, because you're listening only the music without other surrounding noises. The Extra Bass also is really cool, because with this feature the sound gets rich and deep, and with the app on your phone the use of the headphones gets really easy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage

MDR-XB950N1 29 March 2018 by Charlie d (USA)

Less than 100 hrs use and all plastic parts are breaking. Several epoxy jobs just to keep in use

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent product

MDR-XB950N1 28 March 2018 by roaminreve (United Kingdom)

Despite what WHICH said these headphones are first class

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT

MDRXB950N1/B 27 March 2018  (USA)

Very Good all around. Good bass, Sound quality and Noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love Sony wireless headphones but....

MDRXB950N1/B 24 March 2018 by Shoulder (USA)

I may have big ears but the ear muffs do not fit my entire ear and is uncomfortable. Are there any suggestions for more comfort or a larger size?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony XB059N1

MDRXB950N1/B 19 March 2018 by Sn1ckrs (USA)

The biggest selling point about these headphones is in the title. The extra bass! There's definitely plenty of it to go around. The bass isn't over the top and obnoxious like the Skullcandy Crushers but more sculpted, defined, and packing a punch. If it's too much for you, you can use the app to adjust it to your liking, or press the Bass Effect button on the side to turn it off completely. If your looking for bass heavy cans, these will do you justice. The bass doesn't muddy up the other frequencies either. The mids and highs come in clear and your left with a clear, punchy, and 'fun' sound. Sound quality for me is great and listening to the music with these headphones is an overall enjoyable experience. However, the sound stage is a bit lacking compared to other headphones at this price point. You'll still be able to pick out instruments and locations, the distance between them isn't as wide as they could be though. It's a picky comment, but if your a picky person it deserves mentioning. These headphones are huge! Many reviewers state that you'll be able to see these guys in your peripherals and they're not entirely wrong. After the first couple of minutes though you barely notice them and its not even a problem. The pads themselves are pretty big as well but super comfortable. I have had listening sessions last for hours without the need for adjustment and wearing them in the gym didn't cause any overheating issues for me. I had no experience with ear fatigue, and that achy feeling around the jaw you get with some headphones was never present. They are made mostly with plastic, but feel very well made and I feel confident these won't break anytime soon under typical usage. The only complaint I have on the build isn't about the headphones themselves, but the case (or lack thereof) that comes with it. A cloth carrying pouch is included which is nice, but won't protect your investment if your throwing them in your gym bag or school bag. The buttons and the usage of said buttons are amazing. On the left ear cup you have the ability to turn the headphones on or off, as well as the Bass Effect, and the Noise Cancellation. On the right ear cup, you have a stick out button for playing and pausing, as well as pushing that button upwards for the next track or pushing the button downwards for the previous track. Bellow that button is the volume rocker. All these buttons, once your use to their locations, are easy to find, easy to use, and add to the enjoyable experience of these headphones. Once connected to the app, you can do one of two things. You can toggle the bass to your desired bass level, and turn the noise cancellation on or off. The noise cancellation works, not as well as the 1000x/MKII, but not as bad as some of the competition, like the Beats Studio 3's. The pads are big enough to cause a good amount of noise isolation and with the cancellation turned on, everything turns into a soft muffle. You aren't left entirely in a shell, but the surrounding sounds become quite difficult to make out. Once the music is turned on, that's all you'll be able to hear. Also, these guys get incredibly loud. The XB950N1 at 50% volume is everything elses 75-80% volume. Overall, I love these headphones. They are very comfortable and the sound signature is very "fun" and very punchy. The build quality is great and the button placements couldn't be better. If your a bass head or looking for a pair of headphones to steal you away to the music, these guys will not disappoint. However, if your more of an audiophile who needs to have the sound as neutral as possible, look elsewhere.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 16 March 2018 by Gear Jammer (USA)

Very Good Headphones, I'm pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality

MDR-XB950N1 09 March 2018 by Hmario (USA)

I bought the neadphomes 3 montns ago and the right ear peice is broken amd tou hear a fuzzy mess od noise

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great

MDRXB950N1/B 05 March 2018  (USA)

Great audio quality, insane bass, good NC, good build quality, and confy af

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best headphones I have ever tried

MDR-XB950N1 01 March 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones just under a month ago and haven’t been so pleased with a purchase. The package arrived in pristine condition. And the headphones were charged. The headphones deliver amazing sound quality with noise cancelling. Also has a great battery life lasting for 22 hours. The app on iOS and Android also allows for different experiences with features such as “club” which gives the user a very realistic feeling. Overall these headphones are great and would recommend them for anyone. As they are very user friendly. I almost forgot to mention; they fit so well making a great seal around your ears. Overall it’s a very good product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great BASS!

MDR-XB950N1 27 February 2018 by hemprey (USA)

Pads is amazingly comfortable. The headphones looks so huge though, but I don't care. Bass is loud it's awesome. I just wish the highs were a little bit pronounced though. I mean, it sounds like the EQ curve is like really going downwards. Which is deceiving as the highs sounded amazing when I tested this at the store. They might have had some EQ on player. I also read somewhere about the overall sound can be tweaked, but hasn't worked really.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

More Like Noise Reduction, Not Cancellation

MDR-XB950N1 26 February 2018 by rutripper (USA)

Very Nice quality but was disappointed when I tried to turn the noise cancellation on and realized it was already activated. It will cancel the sound of a tv at normal volume, but nothing more. I can still hear people talking in a normal conversation and when I snap my fingers and it sounds the same with or without the noise cancellation. I don't have much experience with many noise cancelling headphones but I tried some audio-technicas about 5-6 years ago which I remember being just as good from the same price. I imagine you can get a better deal nowadays.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones but requires a few tweaks

MDR-XB950N1 26 February 2018 by GreenColoredHeadphones (USA)

I bought these headphones about 3 weeks ago and i was in love with them the moment I pressed "Confirm Order" however, I do have some complaints. Special Effects: Noise Cancelling and Extra bass I love the noise cancelling and extra bass effects however i dislike how every time I turn them either on or off the headphones announces that I have turned it on or off. Its great that i hear the announcement but its annoying that it mutes out whatever I am listening to. I do not like the fact that Noise cancelling is always on when I put on the headphones, I feel like the headphones should be simply adjusted to the last's use configuration. totally not a big deal but just my preference. Design The headphones are HUGE! People are always staring lol. the downside to the size is that when theyre around my neck when I look to the left or right I feel restricted and I also fear the headphones may snap somehow. The cushions on the headphones are really comfortable as mentioned but another downside about the cushions and the size is it makes my ears and the areas in contact with the cushions respirate. I am always warm, so maybe its just my body temperature but when listening to music for long periods of times (maybe 30 to 45 minutes) I would have to take off the headphones and let cool air pass by my ears. Only on one occasion did I have to wipe an excessive amount of sweat from my ears and headphones. ( the room was really hot) well.. because of this issue it makes me wonder if I would be able to wear these headphones in the summer when I am taking a walk. Wired Connection the back Aux cable is very good and useful. there were times I could not connect to my laptop ( not headphones fault) and the aux became very useful then. The aux was even more useful when my headphones needed to be charged. NOTE: you cant charge and listen to headphones simultaneously but you can use the wire and that would work well. Phone Call these headphones have mics so you can use them to answer phone calls and make calls. the only downside about this feature is that youre in an area where its noisy, you yourself will not be bored with the noise because of noise cancelling and the cushion but the person youre speaking with will hear everything that is going on around you. they will hear even better than you are. i think that is all. overall great headphones. Sound is great, Extra bass is heavenly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, poor headband

MDR-XB950N1 23 February 2018 by clever_nickname_01 (USA)

Bought a pair last year based on other recommendations, and they are great sounding bluetooth headset. The noise cancelling works great- I didn't realize how great it works until I took them off during a recent flight. The sound quality is very good, although there is too much bass if you turn the "bass effect" on- with it off, it sounds pretty good, especially if you have an EQ. Like many other Sony headphones, it seems all the research goes into the speaker, so while the sound quality is great they do have the typical Sony problem of not being able to stay on your head. If you're sitting still, they're great. Like I said before, they work great on flights. If you plan on being active (if you use these to run, work out, etc), you may want to look elsewhere as they'll constantly fall off of your head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worked Great Until Battery Stopped Charging

MDRXB950N1/B 21 February 2018 by jjmaho2 (USA)

I got these headphones as a gift from my wife on Christmas, and I loved them for commuting on the bus everyday. Now after less than 2 months of usage they won't charge anymore.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing BASS

MDRXB950N1/B 21 February 2018 by JCart8M (USA)

I have had these for about 3 days now and don’t even compare to the Dre Beats I once had. The bass on these bad boys will knock your socks off. I passed these around work and I just watched everybody’s mouths drop after playing some rap/dubstep songs. These headphones were made for those genres. I highly recommend these to anyone looking for a durable headphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Broke in less than 60 days

MDR-XB950N1 17 February 2018 by rikitinriki (USA)

These headphones are fantastic and I was very pleased with the bass sound. The problem is the plastic hardware crack on both right and left sides above the ear pads (where the model number is). I called Sony and it claims no warranty on physical damage. I'm very gentle with my electronics and accessories. I give these an A on sound quality and F on material.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broke after 2 uses

MDRXB950N1/B 12 February 2018 by BobTfly (USA)

I was so excited to have a good set of wireless headphones and chose these over beats. They broke after using them 2 times. They would not turn on!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing headphones, wont connect to new iphone...

MDR-XB950N1 11 February 2018 by GenericName (USA)

Got these as a christmas gift, were instantly in love with them. Had suberb noise cancelling, could get really loud if wanted, and you could actually hear and feel the extra-bass feature when turned on. It was overall a headphone that made me smile. When the time came to get a new phone, i upgraded to the iphone 8 plus. On a lenghty car ride, i decided to use them on my new phone. They turned on, but didnt connect. Tried my roomates phone, didnt even show up. Help please dont know whats wrong with them and wouldnt like to say bad things about Sony because they are usually good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Wireless Headphones

MDR-XB950N1 07 February 2018 by Sparkly (United Kingdom)

I had these for a little of two weeks and all that l can say is that they are worth ever penny l payed for them the bass is amazing and very punchy the active noise cancelling is great to the build quality is superb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

MDRXB950N1/B 06 February 2018 by Bluetooth123 (USA)

Sounds outstanding. I could not find my serial#. I did find the model number. Does not bluetooth to my new ipad or my tv. Cable included does work on ipad and tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I does everything it said on the box

MDR-XB950N1 05 February 2018 by fingers 753 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my old RF Sony headphones and has not disappointed very good quality, range though not as good as RF. Problems when adjusting headphones with my fingers touching the sensitive buttons.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Nice listening modes (concert, arena, etc)

MDR-XB950N1 31 January 2018 by edixbta (USA)

Listening the music like electronic, pop with the bass is really good the bass and using the listening modes are amazing, for classicall music is excelent with the concert listening mode. Good fit for my head and ears (comfortable). ;), now I work with pleasant concentration.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not compatible with TV

MDRXB950N1/B 29 January 2018 by billtwo (USA)

Bought this last week to attach via bluetooth to our new sony tv. The headphones distorted tv sound so that one could not listen to the headphones and the TV simultaneously. We tried all tv adjustments. Had to return headphones. Recos depend on intended use. Not with bluetooth tv connection. Otherwise, sound was great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound

MDR-XB950N1 28 January 2018 by D Hill (USA)

Good headphones lot of bass it’s my second pair Sony is a good brand

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Headphones, stereo cord in box doesn't fit

MDR-XB950N1 28 January 2018 by HamerMan (USA)

Awesome headphones. Unfortunately, the stereo cord included in the package doesn't fit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DROP THAT BASSS - Sony 950n1

MDR-XB950N1 25 January 2018 by NOCNOC (USA)

Ladies and Gentlemen - If you music taste enjoys a touch of bass drop. I would recommend these babies... I am a House-Head - This product provides crisp highs and tight "Boom" Bass - Don't waste your money on over priced items. These Kick !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So far so good after using it for one day

MDRXB950N1/B 20 January 2018  (USA)

The sound is very good and I like the bass effect! The connection is very straight forward and I have no trouble doing it. The noise cancelling feature is not what I expected, but it is acceptable. I wish the headphone was charged so that I can use it right out of the box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound fantastic

MDR-XB950N1 11 January 2018 by Sebgreen (United Kingdom)

Bought these to use in the office. They sound great. Are really comfy to wear and the noise canceling works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Limited Wireless Capability

MDR-XB950N1 09 January 2018 by DanteDC (USA)

Received this as a gift for Christmas. It works with my iPhone with the Headphones Connect but it does not connect using Bluetooth with an iPad. You have to use supplied wire to use it with an iPad

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Research paid off!

MDR-XB950N1 09 January 2018 by 956joejoe (USA)

I just purchased these a few days ago and can't keep them off. The bass sound is awesome and not distorted. These were rated high on several blogs for ease of use, great priced and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I love these headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 08 January 2018 by NileshR12_1 (USA)

These headphones are awesome!! The sound quality, the bass, & the noise cancelling are great!! While the battery life is already really good, I wish they lasted 30-40 hours if possible, and I wish they were available in blue like other Sony headphones because I would get them in blue instead of the black ones I have right now. And, I wish the cable that comes in the box included an in-line remote & mic with playback controls for the wired mode. But other than that these are a great pair of headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice sound

MDR-XB950N1 08 January 2018 by kaitekat (USA)

So far so good. Never owned a pair of sony headphones before and my boyfriend suggested me to try these. The bass is really nice and immersive, which is what I was looking for. Most of your bass heavy headphones are very expensive so I was a little wary on what to buy, but these were actually pretty reasonably priced. The noise canceling is more like noise reduction, but that wasn't as important to me as the quality of the sound. I am a huge fan of the ability to change and pause songs/audio with the headphones. It's probably my favorite thing about them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Impressive headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 08 January 2018 by boyroney (USA)

Really impressive headphones that provide excellent sound quality. For the price, I would recommend these over many more expensive and trendier looking models.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Sound!

MDRXB950N1/B 06 January 2018 by Teder (USA)

Just purchased the Extra Bass Noise Cancelling Stereo Headset. Installation was simple and the sound that comes out is awesome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

awesome

MDR-XB950N1 05 January 2018 by ahmade007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and i'm happy that i listen to the music so clearly and i can hear every single sound in my ear , the the product has from me 10/10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Headphones!

MDR-XB950N1 04 January 2018 by Migs (USA)

I bought these Headphones and I absolutely love them. There Very Comfortable very well built and really Great Quality! And if you love Bass.. Well these Headphones are definitely for you. Plus you could control the bass though an app on your phone. Im very pleased with this purchase and the price wasn't bad at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Big Comfortable Ear Cups, Really Great sound

MDR-XB950N1 26 December 2017 by PavelGamesBG (USA)

The Sony XB950N1 Have Really Really Soft Ear Cups Great Sound Super Crisp Bass But I Like The Design Of The 950's Better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Design to big

MDR-XB950N1 23 December 2017 by KevinC (USA)

I lost the micro usb cable, they don't have it on the website.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Sony headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 22 December 2017 by Geode19947 (USA)

I just bought the Soney headphones Model number MDRXB950N1 and I love ‘em!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Headphones with attitude

MDRXB950N1/B 19 December 2017 by Susanw (USA)

Bought these for my boyfriend who loves music and I swear he wore them to bed last night. He said the bass is superb, the sound is luke surround sound, and the feature of answering his phone calls is too cool. I am so happy this product was a great Christmas present.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Design is not perfect - so big

MDRXB950N1/G 08 December 2017 by Maziad (USA)

Everything excellent - I don’t like the design only

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Clear

MDRXB950N1/B 04 December 2017 by Mitch1192 (USA)

Hopefully the drivers hold up to the high proficiency coming out of the box. Very impressive sound. My only upgrade would be to have more clear highs for rock genre. Bass is nice and not inner ear tingling like competitors "high bass" claims.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible bass

MDR-XB950N1 03 December 2017 by Ian370z (USA)

I’m very happy that a made a good purchase, Sony out did them selfs this time!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning Headset!

MDRXB950N1/B 28 November 2017 by TechnologyLover99 (USA)

I just recently purchased these headphones to replace my Beats Studio 2.0 wired headphones and I must say, these are an improvement! The Extra Bass feature is phenomenal, as well as all the features such as the noise cancelling feature, play/stop/skip/reverse buttons, and so on. For a headset of this price, I think these are at the top.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not great

MDR-XB950N1 15 November 2017 by SJGlad (United Kingdom)

I have had these for two weeks and have noticed that when in noise cancelling mode I can detect what I can only describe as a whistle noise in the background. When NC mode off the noise goes away which seems a little self defeating. Overall sound is good and comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

its worth the money trust

MDR-XB950N1 27 October 2017 by keeyla (USA)

I am in love with these headphones, almost 3 years ago I purchased the bass booting wireless headphones. Unit my dada broke them a month ago so I upgraded to the noise cancelling version this time. For years a was a beats headphone only user, after going thru many pairs in 3 years I purchased sony and never looked back. Best decision iv ever made. Ppl always ask why do I spend so much money on headphones. Trust once you buy these you will hear what I'm talking about. Iv put so many ppl friends/family onto these headphones iv got nothing but amazing feedback.... ITS WORTH IT TRUST

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Don;t buy these for a Windows 7 pc.

MDR-XB950N1 20 October 2017 by Rwal (USA)

There is no driver available for these headphones for Windows 7, so they really sound awful through Bluetooth. However, using the audio cord makes them sound okay. However, that kind of defeats the purpose of cordless devices. So, Sony, how about a driver for us Windows guys? Anyway, connected via Bluetooth to a Samsung Galaxy Tab E, they do sound quite good. And the Sony Headphone app is quite good at controlling these headphones. Having the controls available on the earpieces is a nice touch, but it takes a while to figure out just where they are without taking the headphones off and looking. Surely just a learning process, I guess.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

5

0

Awesome quality

MDR-XB950N1 20 October 2017 by Adam83 (United Kingdom)

Awesome quality, not just the sound. But the feel and build of the headphones. I've had in ears for 15 years, though the change would be difficult. But the these make the transition very easy. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality, Best Bass ever on headphones

MDR-XB950N1 19 September 2017  (USA)

Comfort: The cushions are good, and cover your ears completely. This has been made fold-able now, which makes it easy to carry. Active Noise Cancellation: This is again a great product from Sony, and a good upgrade version of XB950BT. ANC does not cancel all the noise, there are still some noise that leaks through, but still effective in most cases. Sound: No comments on BASS. Hands down, no one provides that bass in the industry in these price ranges which SONY provides. These are industry best. Fidelity 20-20,000 Hz SONY Headphones Connect App: The headphones connect to the above android/iOS app. The best part is you can easily control the bass to your desired level, from a range of -10 to +10. It also provides 4 different surround modes - Arena, Club, Outdoor Stage and Concert Hall. ANC can be switched off and on from the app. Overall: If you are deep bass lover, SONY Extra bass technology are great. This as a ANC bluetooth headphones works decent on ANC, but great as headphones and is a good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sound Does not reach my heart But Best BASS

MDR-XB950N1 10 September 2017 by Basudeb (USA)

1.I am unable to change the volume or next or previous song when i use via Cable. 2.Both of my ear getting hot when i use it 15 minutes 3.Its Really great to control BASS Via android App 4.Its So heavy to wear a long time on head. 5.I am unable to make call or receive any call when i use this headphone via cable

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

15

0

THEY HAVE SUPER BASS

MDR-XB950N1 14 August 2017 by TUTWO (USA)

YES THEY DO HAVE sUPER SOUND, BASS, CONTROLS ON SIDE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OR ADJUST, BEST HAVE THEM SET UP BEFORE USING & THEN THEY SWIVEL & TURN ALL OVER THE PLACE--A POOR CHOICE FOR HEADPHONES ----A BAD DECISION ON SONY'S PART!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

27

0

Worth the Price

MDRXB950N1/B 26 July 2017 by Big_Mike (USA)

the sound quality is as good as it gets, the bass boosting feature is awesome when you really wanna feel that bass power, noise cancelling is amazing and a must have if you're trying to immerse yourself in games or movies, and the design is simple and aesthetically pleasing, and the padding is super comfortable on the head. I also love using these when I workout because they connect to my phone with Bluetooth and the fact that they are wireless means no stupid hassle with cords like most headphones. I am 100% satisfied with these, I honestly couldn't have picked a better headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

excellent product

MDR-XB950N1 23 July 2017  (USA)

I bought this product like 3 week ago and i'm very successful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

These are amazing

MDR-XB950N1 23 July 2017 by Bassforlife770 (USA)

They have toe best quality I have ever seen. I am a DJ and these I use all the time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Pros/Cons

MDR-XB950N1 22 July 2017 by MWFV (USA)

Noise cancelling is better on the X1000s, but the XB950N1s sound better for the types of music I enjoy, and invoke more of an emotional response. Tons of bass even w/o enabling "the bass effect" button. X1000s also have a LOT less background hiss when no music is playing compared to the XB950N1s. I prefer the buttons on the XB950N1s over the swipe controls on the X1000s, but the "hand for ambient noise" feature the X1000s offer is awesome and much missed with these. The X1000s are also slightly more comfortable than the XB950N1s, but neither are as light or comfortable as the QC35s. The Bose QC35s are a great all around headphone, but of the three mentioned I've kept the XB950N1s around to keep. The bass output and overall headroom are perfect for pop, hip hop, EDM and other contemporary styles. I hope someday Sony elects to combine some of the features of the X1000s w/ the sound profile of the XB950N1s, and the light weight and comfort of the QC35 - they would have a killer on their hands!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

16

0

0

GET THESE NOW!

MDRXB950N1/B 21 July 2017 by Davyd (USA)

I just bought these yesterday and I have to say I am impressed. I have gone through some headphones in the past including skullcandys crushers and bose sound link and theres no comparison. Sony really set the standard for noise canceling and superior sound quality. Will definately buy another pair but maybe the next tier up the 1000X. I recommend these to anyone looking for great sound and loves bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950N1 15 July 2017 by Firball (USA)

Very good sound quality nice and snug so it does not fall off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

XB950N1My1stpairof/haveExcellentExpensive:MDRSONY

MDR-XB950N1 10 July 2017  (USA)

I have experienced thus far...Great quality w/ all sound. The fit is close to perfect and the size and shape are Ideal for me. Idk if having to charge this product is normal?I do have a higher regard for SONY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Not suitable for long use

MDR-XB950N1 27 June 2017 by Orangutan (USA)

First off, let me say these headphones are no way near on the big side, as some say. I have pretty small ears and they fit ear cushion size decently, with not that much space left over tough. Also my primary headphone usage is on PC at work, with cable. Second issue I have is headphone ear pressure. The headphones squeeze my head just a bit to tight to cause strain over longer periods of use. For example I'm unable to use them for a whole day at work. My headband setting is only 2-3 clicks out and increasing the headband length setting doesn't reduce your ear pressure. When charging you're headphones and listening to them over cable at the same time (using 2 cables) on PC, there is a lot of interference sound noises present. Even with noise-cancellation and bass boost off, my ear-drums start hurting after a few hours, even with moderate (under ~40%) sound volume. I'm no expert, but It may be due to too much sound pressure, since ear cushion fit really really good. The sound feedback of the woman, which gives you feedback if you for example turn off noise cancellation is cool at first, but becomes annoying after a while. For example you need to wait about 3-4 seconds for noise cancellation to switch mode. At that transition period, you're music is on mute.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

11

0

Third time is a charm

MDR-XB950N1 14 June 2017 by Lug0891 (USA)

At first I was weary of getting the 950BTN1, I had gone through two pairs of the older 950BT models. They would usually break at the hinges. Needless to say these I'm happy with these new guys. It's great you can adjust the EQs via an app and with new hinge/folding design I doubt they'll break as easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

really great and easy to use

MDR-XB950N1 12 June 2017 by dannipie (USA)

the design is really cool looking and looks a little funny on me, but thats fine. Anyway is sounds really good and the bass is really booming on this thing. The only problem is the noise leaking, its very loud even when u put pressure on them to hear for yourself. thats the only thing i dislike, i dont like when i hear other peoples music so this will worry me a bit when i go out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Better than Bose QC35

MDR-XB950N1 27 May 2017 by chandu3267 (USA)

I was well prepared to buy Bose headphones and entered the store after seeing the headphone on display wanted to give a try of all headphone but my opinion changed after listening to the XB950. They have better sound Quality and bass with the extra bass option compared to Bose QC35.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent

MDR-XB950N1 03 May 2017 by SirAG (United Kingdom)

I've used this headphone for 1 month, they are incredibly good. The only thing I don't like is the mic, the box and the cables.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1