Skip to Content
295

4.7 based on 295 customer reviews

235
46
9
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A real step up from an LGE6

139 cm (55") 03 July 2017 by INJA (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace an LGE6 that was defective through its screen having been damaged. But it has proved to be more than a replacement, due to much better colour handling, better sound, and a more robust construction. Only downside is a slightly more awkward operating system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor value for money

139 cm (55") 15 November 2017 by Mr Radio (United Kingdom)

When going into menus one doesn't expect them to be cluttered up with advertising features, and having to trawl through these before getting to the menus. The menus are poorly set out and difficult to manoeuvre. Sony seems to have become obsessed with putting timers on all the menus, taking them off the screen prematurely. The recording feature is very poor, the recording marker is very vague, just a single red line which could apply to any programme, a red dot in the programme rectangle would be much better,you also have to go into another menu to confirm the recording, and yet another menu to delete the programme. Don't like the programme guide either. We do like the picture quality, and the sound is great, but having spent this amount of money, we find all the above ruins the television for us, and we expected something special. A very disappointing purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

306 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

The best ever - no doubt.

139 cm (55") 23 January 2018 by Malcohm H (United Kingdom)

it is even better than I expected, I needed a little help to set it up through my system but after that it was easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic new TV

139 cm (55") 23 January 2018 by marf (United Kingdom)

Really delighted with our new TV Awesome sound and superb picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb HD Picture

139 cm (55") 23 January 2018 by Preo68 (United Kingdom)

Bought on Christmas Eve and HD picture quality is superb and the overall design is stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely clear picture

164 cm (65") 23 January 2018 by Mag06 (United Kingdom)

It is easy to use. Love it. It has helpful books of instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous picture quality

139 cm (55") 23 January 2018 by selli (United Kingdom)

Very happy in all respects( picture/sound/look of product) with new A1 TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AVOID!

139 cm (55") 23 January 2018 by Simon967 (United Kingdom)

Bought 2 months ago. Not compatible with Bose Soundlink soundbar. Not what I would expect from a 2.5K Television. Exchanged in the hope it would fix the problem. It didnt. New TV is now not compatible with Bose Soundbar and Apple TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Class! Pure Class!

164 cm (65") 23 January 2018 by mrsjar (United Kingdom)

Brings David Attenborough into your Living Room! Anything filmed in 4K is unbelievably good and even anything that isn't is still remarkably good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent picture. Let down by average OS

139 cm (55") 22 January 2018 by Flasheart (United Kingdom)

I love watching films and shows on this TV. Read the professional reviews, they are spot on. However, Android for TV doesn’t let you pause live TV. Even with a connected disc you can only record TV if Youview mode is disabled. Doing that disables all the catch up applications. It’s poor really and Sony should do better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great TV!!

164 cm (65") 22 January 2018 by Lenny22 (United Kingdom)

Love the TV, though does have it's niggles: The only draw back of this TV is that it sometimes loses it's wireless connection, and everything has to put rebooted for it to connect again - very frustrating...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not as good as imagined!

139 cm (55") 22 January 2018 by Kips (United Kingdom)

This is a decent TV but feel it's not great value for money. Selecting inputs can be frustrating and annoying. Power on and off can take ages. Would look at other brands next time!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Amazing picture & sound, shame about the software.

139 cm (55") 22 January 2018 by Chanandler (United Kingdom)

I have been using my A1 for just over a week now and it is an amazing TV. The picture and sound are just fantastic, provided you have suitable sources to run through it of course. Attached to mine are an Xbox 1X, an AppleTV 4K and a Playstation 4 Pro plus we subscribe to Netflix UltraHD and Amazon Prime. So we have access to plenty of suitable 4K HDR content to base this review around. Lets start though with the software. Android TV is OK, it gets the job done and it's nice to have a built-in ChromeCast. I hope that Google keep refining and updating it however, there are so many features missing and optimisations that could be made to make it a truly fantastic TV operating system. But currently, the software on my A1 is laggy and unresponsive, I do not expect to push a button on the remote and then wait 5 to 10 seconds for the TV to respond, not on a TV in this price point! Interestingly, if you disconnect the TV from the internet it runs fine, but that kind of defeats the whole point of the TV (we have 55Mbps BT Infinity so it is not our home internet connection)! One thing I do not understand is why Sony opted for YouView or more accurately, why they reduced the functionality of the TV if you decide to use it or not. If you activate YouView then you lose access to any satellite inputs and the ability to record TV using an external hard drive is also disabled. It is FreeView reception only. The software is slow and laggy and I think the EPG and menus look awful, it's as if they were designed by a child! Disable YouView and then you can receive both FreeView and FreeSat and can record content to an external USB hard drive but some of the catch-up TV services like IT Player no longer work (they are tied in to YouView apparently). This is something that should have been made much clearer before I even bought this TV and it certainly shouldn't have taken me hours of searching around internet forums to find out about it as I couldn't figure out why disabling YouView messed up the catch-up services. Next issue is down to the HDMI ports. Why on earth are only ports 2 and 3 enabled for 4K 60p 4:2:2 and 4:4:4? At this price, every port should support the full 4K / HDR options. I am now having to swap the HDMI cable between the Xbox 1X and PS 4 Pro on port 2 to get the most out of the two consoles. But these little issues fade away as soon as you connect up a suitable 4k source and start watching. 4K content from Netflix and Amazon Prime looks amazing and UHD disks played through the Xbox 1X are just jaw-dropping. The sound is unbelievable, even more so when you consider that there is no sound bar. As I understand it, Sony are releasing an update in Feb 18 to add in support for Dolby Vision and HLG so I am hoping that this update will also refine the software on the TV and improve it's performance. So the issues aside, this is an outstanding TV and I am very happy with it. The design, picture and sound quality and built-in features. I would definitely recommend it but it would have been nice to have known about the few shortcomings before I had bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

What a TV

139 cm (55") 21 January 2018 by GAZ666 (United Kingdom)

I have always liked the quality of the Sony Brand. This new TV has brought it to a new level. Had the TV for about 3weeks now and I am still finding new things. The sound quality is the best I have experienced in a TV and in fact some sound systems. The picture quality blew me away. I would recommend this TV. It is worth the outlay.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many great features

139 cm (55") 21 January 2018 by Shoppy (United Kingdom)

I bought this tv about 3 weeks ago I think it is brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blown away with this TV

139 cm (55") 21 January 2018 by Markylad (United Kingdom)

I had my eye on this TV for a while, having bought a competatives 4kHDR TV only 12 months ago, i wasnt sure if i could justify spending so much money on a new TV..... how wrong was i! First off lets just say OLED is the future, i can not really explain how much of a difference there is in the blacks and colours, compared to LED televisions. Blacks are black, no signs of grey or banding. This has such a big impact on colours and whites. The picture quality of the A1 is unbelievable, sharp and detailed with some of the best motion processing i have ever witnessed on a TV. Even upscaling HD programmes, you forget your not watching true 4K. SD programmes do not upscale as much, but as most channels are in HD any way that isnt really an issue. But put a 4K source into this TV and you really will be left speechless. Compared to my other TV it is night and day when it comes to picture quality. I was so surprised as for me 4K is 4K right? Wrong yet again! It is unbelievable the difference in quality, again i think it is fown to the OLED display and the processing used by Sony. Add to this the sound which emits from the surface of the screen, as it has no speakers other than the sub woofer and you have one of the best TVs money can buy. The only thing i would complain about is the Android smart apps, it is very sluggish to move around, but does have some great apps including KODI for streaming your movies. The other thing i would complain about is the lack of an instruction booklet, paying this sort of money you would have expected a user manual, instead you can grt help my pressing the help button on the remote or going online, but this is still not ideal. And the remote feels cheap which was unexpected for such an expensive purchase. But overall the TV is stunning and you really need to see it working properly to appreaciate how good it is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV for both sound and vision

139 cm (55") 21 January 2018 by juan1947 (United Kingdom)

I spent some time deliberating over various models but eventually decided on the Sony OLED as having the best features and good value for money. I have been very impressed with the clarity of vision an sound quality. Whilst it doesn't give surround sound it provides a good quality and saves having lots of additional kit in your room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful TV - Stunning Picture

164 cm (65") 20 January 2018 by PaulFTN (United Kingdom)

Bough day before Xmas eve, delivered next day. The TV is just impressive, having gone from 55 to 65" TV makes a massive difference. Blown away by the details, the colour, and the contrast. When I get a dark scene, the TV just disappears into my dark the wall, there is no light at all. Have rigged up the ARC to my amp which doesn't support HDCP 2.2, so this way get full 4K from Sky, and get the ATMOS sound. Passes DTS from USB source back to amp. Waiting for the TV to support BBC iPlayer 4K HDR. think this is happening soon, if not already? Not a cheap TV at all, but is is pretty much perfect IMO. Even my not normally bothered wife, describes this TV as beautiful Acoustic surface gives a good sound, but after I got the ARC working, I always use a surround sound amp. I think the menu structure isn't as user friendly as my LG, and there can be a delay in response, the IOS maybe just a bit slow. Remote can be a bit hit and miss if you aren't pointing directly at TV. Any negatives are easily outweighed by just how good the picture is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Picture!

139 cm (55") 19 January 2018 by Sun779 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the set about 8 weeks ago now and wall mounted it using a Sanus bracket at around 28" off the ground. The Picture quality is very impressive but then again I’ve been using a 14” Sony CRT for the past year! The sound is brilliant for such a thin panel. The smart TV functions work well albeit there’s not much that will work with my Apple products so I will have to purchase an Android tablet to use screen share functions. If I was being critical, the only disappointments for me would be how far the TV stands out from the wall. Even using a very flat bracket, the TV sits apprx 100mm proud of the wall due to the rear speaker. Post purchasing the TV I found out that OLED screens are not perfectly flat and can have slight dimples/orange peel effect. This does not detract from the picture quality however, annoying that no one mentioned it plus it can vary by set. Overall I'm very happy with the TV and time will tell how well it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture and sound

139 cm (55") 18 January 2018 by Tim13 (United Kingdom)

Amazing picture and sound bought this tv after reading many reviews and not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful picture

164 cm (65") 17 January 2018 by Treva (United Kingdom)

Having used sony oled tv for a few weeks very impressed with watching sports hd and uhd content.good sound as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 4K 55 A1 OLED

139 cm (55") 17 January 2018 by Cardiff (United Kingdom)

Great picture good sound overall a great tv you wouldn’t be disappointed brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A1 4K HDR oiled with acoustic surface

139 cm (55") 17 January 2018 by Bowls (United Kingdom)

I bought it nearly two months ago. It is a good product from Sony. I am very happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fab tele

164 cm (65") 17 January 2018 by Silly box really (United Kingdom)

Spent more than intended but so pleased I did Young man in Sony shop a delight to deal with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing display!

139 cm (55") 17 January 2018 by BenC69 (United Kingdom)

Best TV in the current market by far, expensive but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early Days perfection

139 cm (55") 16 January 2018 by Loftylugs (United Kingdom)

A week of use, so far. Faultless picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Picture and sound great but.....

164 cm (65") 16 January 2018 by icyy (United Kingdom)

The programme guide is a monster. There is a software suit that sorts it out but only for Freeview, the Freesat guide is missing. If you want to include the satellite channels you are left with a huge programme list which you can delete channels from one by one, but considering there are about 1000 entries you need a day for this. One option is to have favourites, but if you try to fill the favourites list with the channels you can get via Freesat and Freeview it cant hold enough of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Grear design and fantastic picture

139 cm (55") 16 January 2018 by Michaelt (United Kingdom)

Great looking TV and a fantastic picture quality. Looks great on the wall and with no bezel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Superb TV, great viewing!

139 cm (55") 15 January 2018 by northa2901 (United Kingdom)

Bought the Sony Bravia 4K OLED A1 before Christmas, straightforward to set up, easy to use. Comprehensive range of apps. Beautiful design, great display panel, and the Acoustic Surface sound is first class. Makes watching TV worthwhile! And 4K content is brilliant; even HD is upscaled superbly!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Best TV ever

164 cm (65") 15 January 2018 by VWTTRACER (United Kingdom)

Bought this TV as a replacement for my Samsung. However this decision was not taken lightly and I spent considerable amount of time on researching the best TV available at a "reasonable" price. This is really the best!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Simply stunning

139 cm (55") 15 January 2018 by MarkL1 (United Kingdom)

Brought this TV because we fell in love with it the moment we saw it. The quality,design are what you expect by Sony,but they have gone the extra mile with this one. The sharpness of the screen, sound are just simply stunning. Not yet watch in 4K but even so watch even the basic image is crystal and the sound emulating from the rear, amplifies the room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic picture quality

139 cm (55") 15 January 2018 by alibongo (United Kingdom)

Purchased for Christmas ,the quality of the picture and sound makes you think your in the movie.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Defiantly Worth the money

164 cm (65") 14 January 2018 by Alan782 (United Kingdom)

Had it for a month now and very happy with it, would defiantly see it in the flesh before deciding on another. As a side note you can turn off the white led on the bottom giving a very nice clean look.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

extremely pleased

164 cm (65") 14 January 2018 by willow15 (United Kingdom)

Amazing picture , easy to use and very informative help & support. Sound is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Fabulous Picture

164 cm (65") 14 January 2018 by Jimmymerlin (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent and the set has many features ( some of which I haven't got round to trying yet) . The remote is easy to use and I've used the HELP section a few times to give me advice on various setups on the TV. I would highly recommend it to anyone and hope that broadcasters will start sending out their programs in 4k to get the absolute best out of the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent in all aspects

139 cm (55") 14 January 2018 by poochi (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony A1 4K HDR OLED TV about 5 weeks ago - my viewing experience has been transformed - its perfect in all aspects. Great images especially vibrant colours, particularly 'black'

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 14 January 2018 by Pindai (United Kingdom)

Fantastic clear picture from this TV. I am happy and enjoying watching movies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic features

139 cm (55") 13 January 2018 by Soba (United Kingdom)

This is an a great TV with its amazing 4K HDR picture superiority and crystal sound quality. The magic remote makes it easier to navigate around the tv expansive suite of smart apps. This is the Best Buy in tvs that I’ve made in a while. Thank you, Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A piece of art; but has a big room of improvement

164 cm (65") 13 January 2018 by UncleSum (Singapore)

The product is like a piece of art. I have studied all brand of OLED TV before I make up my mind - Sony-A1 is my choice. Its picture quality and sound quality is brilliant. I like most is each HDMI connection could set its own color setting independently. I am looking forward the firmware upgrade of supporting Dolby Vision in February 2018. The sound quality is nearly like a mini HiFi system. Remeber to set the Sound Equalizer to your listening taste though. You do not need to invest a soundbar for Sony-A1. It sound much better than most of them. I wonder would Sony upgrade it to support Dolby Atom later too. I am not enjoy the user-interface though. User experience is just not good. It is not user friendly to operate. Think about my queen at home. The remote control is a disappointment. I am wonder why Sony not make the remote control more prestige (in term of materials and design) for a TV with this price-tag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV, but can't connect to separate subwoofer?

164 cm (65") 13 January 2018 by JC43 (United Kingdom)

Picture quality is amazing, easily the best I've seen across a number of inputs (SD, HD and 4K). Sound from the acoustic surface is also reasonably good for a slim TV. Rear subwoofer (built into pedestal) is fine but could have more punch (even with EQ turned right up it doesn't offer lots of bass). Given this, it's a massive oversight that this TV is not compatible with Sony's own subwoofers (such as the recent SWF-BR100), even though it has the relevant connections, and even suggests you can do so within the TV's own help menu. I suspect a firmware update would easily correct this, so Sony should seek to rectify this as soon as possible. All reputable online reviews say this is the best TV of 2017, and it's easy to see why. However, it needs more flexibility to connect to Sony's own line of subwoofers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Awesome tv

139 cm (55") 13 January 2018 by Stufish46 (United Kingdom)

This tv may not be the cheapest oled tv on the market but you definitely get what you pay for, the picture quality is unbeleavable and it sounds amazing for a tv with built in speaker, in my opinion this is the best 55” oled tv for sale at the moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Stunning quality picture

164 cm (65") 12 January 2018 by jetset (United Kingdom)

I was shown this product at a store and, whilst not immediately taken by the slightly strange rearward angling of the screen with no stand, was overwhelmed by the quality of the picture, giving an almost 3D effect with the clarity and brightness. Having played with it for a while now the remote menus are not entirely simple to navigate (going back to a previous screen app for instance means reloading) and the highly polished glass does mean some daytime reflections are visible. However the superb field depth and sound quality make this probably the best TV available today, and with the lack of a stand I was able to go to the 65" without physically looking much bigger than my old 50" plasma. Buy one! You won't be looking to change for many years!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sony-a1 oled

139 cm (55") 12 January 2018 by farah (United Kingdom)

This is a great television, happy with my purchase, would definately recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunnning.

139 cm (55") 11 January 2018 by Christine29 (United Kingdom)

After extensive research we bought the Sony OLED TV in December. It is absolutely stunning. The picture is clear; the sound ( through the TV no messy soundbars) is good. We are so pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Good features

139 cm (55") 11 January 2018 by Mrrhodes (United Kingdom)

After 6 weeks delighted with the television quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

55" Sony Bravia KD-A551

139 cm (55") 11 January 2018 by Herkybird (United Kingdom)

It's a great tv let down by the set-up instructions. The instructions say use HDMI 4 for Sky but in fact HDMI 2 or 3 is better. The basic instructions are confusing until you watch the on-line video, There is no mention of this in the instructions. After changing the HDMI input the wifi had to be reset and it would not connect until the TV was switched off at the mains. There is no mention to check that the Sky Q box has the correct resolution for UHD (2000 or greater). This has to be done via the Sky Q settings. The IR blaster seems very crude.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Sony sets the industry standard for OLED TV

139 cm (55") 11 January 2018 by MT1973 (Singapore)

With the A1 4K, you will never watch tv the same way again. Sony just blew the doors off of every television experience with the A1. Hook it up with Apple TV 4K or Netflix for ultra 4K or HD content and be prepared to be blown away. Even normal content never look so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Tv ever!

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Jitz (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago after having drooled over the thought of having one for a number of months. No regrets! Picture and sound are both stunning and the TV is very easy to set up and use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Worth the investment

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Owl 01 (United Kingdom)

Although 1st one had to be returned as it was faulty, so pleased stuck with it, absolutly love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Love it!

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Sara14 (United Kingdom)

I was concerned about the size of the tv in our room but as it is thin and all screen it is elegant and does not appear bulky or oversized. The sound is clear and crisp, the picture quality (especially in HD) is pure. It was fairly straight forward putting it together but not easy to manoeuvre as the glass screen is heavy with no grip. Not a cheap purchase but we’re glad we splashed out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

worth the money ?

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Lee2 (United Kingdom)

Purchased a month ago & very pleased, always had a Sony yet to be disapointed

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Concept

164 cm (65") 10 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

Very good tv.Very good picture quality and sound.I will recommend this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by DdMn (United Kingdom)

Great TV but the controls are fiddly and they take some learning. Why don't manufacrurers standardise more closely on button layouts? Needs careful handling when installing as a two man job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

very clear

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Brian W (United Kingdom)

I wanted to up grade my existing Sony Bravia which is over 6years old and never been a problem to get enhanced picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Sony

139 cm (55") 10 January 2018 by Watp (United Kingdom)

I bought this tv a few weeks ago and it’s the best tv I’ve ever had!! So easy to setup and what a fantastic picture!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A simply stunning TV

164 cm (65") 10 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

I had waited for the various HDR format wars to settle down before seriously considering an upgrade of my AV setup to UHD. Once Sony announced the A1 series would get Dolby Vision (it already supported HDR & HLG), it made my decision very easy. After reviewing all of the TVs available, the A1 simply is the best. The picture quality is just jaw-dropping - as is the build quality. We've had this TV for a month now and everyone who sees it has the same reaction - just speechless at how good it is. I was a bit nervous about such an ambitious upgrade - I needn't have worried. No regrets at all - one of the best pieces of kit I have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing picture, so so operating system

139 cm (55") 09 January 2018 by Acworld (United Kingdom)

The reviews are correct - this tv truly does have amazing picture quality- the vivid colours with HDR are stunning running 4K content. The only minor note of concern is the sluggish operating system, although hopefully this will be addressed with firmware updates.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Thin screen but back speaker adds to thickness!

164 cm (65") 09 January 2018 by N17LESH (United Kingdom)

Overall I have had nothing but issues with this TV. To accommodate this TV I had to get lot of work done to my house wire channelling, replastering and redecorating. I have had to change this TV twice! The first TV came with dead pixel and the second came with damaged glass so I am on TV number 3. Called Sony's unhelp contact centre in Egypt who read from their wonderful script told me to take a 65 inch TV into one of the repair centres - how helpful when it was delivered in a big van! Overall the TV is ok very nice thing screen but the back speakers add a lot of thickness a wall mount but gives off good clear sound. The pic quality is good and you can really see the true blacks. Given that you are paying a lot of money for this TV the remote is really basic looking. If you are thinking of buying this TV I suggest that you make sure its 100% perfect check it with a fine tooth comb. If there is an issue do not ring Sony as they are useless but great at reading from their scripts.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super OLED TV

139 cm (55") 09 January 2018 by nc18 (United Kingdom)

Bought this Sony 55" OLED A1 TV a week before Christmas and have been very impressed with the excellent 4k HDR pictures. My BT box and Panasonic HDD recorder have taken on a new lease of life. The Sony 4k Blu Ray player complements this TV with super movie rendition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

139 cm (55") 09 January 2018 by Rosie009 (United Kingdom)

Great purchase. I wanted to buy a TV with a sound bar, however this has it all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality and sound

139 cm (55") 09 January 2018 by Fiona Winelush (United Kingdom)

This new technology has made viewing TV so much more alive than previously

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture, user interface could be better

164 cm (65") 09 January 2018 by AndrewF (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is as good as it gets for 2017. 4K HDR is mindblowing, HD is excellent and who buys an OLED and watches SD? The interface is very slow and very annoying until you get used to the lag. Removing the Youview function and using Freeview or Freesat Improved things significantly. I always ended up firing up the separate catch up apps anyway so for me youview is redundant as well as a TV performance deadweight. This is not an Android TV issue as I have a Shield TV box that is lightening fast. I don’t think that Sony has a capable enough processor or effiecient enough software implementation to support youview. There are lots of complaints on forums about OLED banding and uniformity with people constantly returning TVs. If you look at test slides you will see banding but I had no issues watching normal content after the TV had been used for 48 hours - give it time before you get too critical. No TV technology is perfect but the OLED picture blows away any minor issues that frankly, I can’t see in normal use. Build quality, looks and picture motion benefits put it a cut above LG, but only if the price differential is small and you can put up with the interface - LG’s is very fast and intuitive by comparison. Network performance was not good. I had problems streaming 4K over Gigabit wired Ethernet to the built in Video App and KODI/SPMC apps. Full HD only buffered very occasionally - my Shield box plays everything and never buffers and it’s on the same network playing the same sources. The set does not support Gigabit Ethernet, but Fast Ethernet should cope. For some reason, KODI and SPMC apps for this TV won’t allow a resolution higher than 1080p to be selected so 4K plays in full HD - not sure why, it may be an app limitation. The built in Video app plays 4K HDR but only via USB due to the network issues stated. Quite frankly, I would use a separate STB for Smart TV functions and when I upgrade my AV Receiver to a 4K capable one, that is what I will do. Use the A1 for what it’s great for - it’s picture quality and sidestep the minor annoyances. Despite the minor useability issues, I still think this TV was the best choice by far at the Black Friday price I paid and with the Sony cash back deal. Otherwise, it’s too much of a price premium over LG if you are watching the penny’s and has less compelling advantages over the Panasonic if you are not. My opinion, others will certainly have a different view.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony A1 4K HDR OLED TV

139 cm (55") 08 January 2018 by discerner (United Kingdom)

This TV is oustanding, the sound and picture quality are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Telly!!!

164 cm (65") 08 January 2018 by Thejrp (United Kingdom)

Purchased before Xmas and extremely pleased with the result

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

(not quite) Perfect television

164 cm (65") 07 January 2018 by Steadicam (United Kingdom)

Purchased just before Christmas and have been using for about two weeks now. I am a tv cameraman and know what a picture should look like so I spent quite some time selecting against competitors like LG and Panasonic. In the end my decision was swayed by the promise that the Sony had Dolby Vision which will become essential, I was promised it had it out of the box, then that it had been updated on December 18 (it hadn't and hasn't) but is now promised on 22 January 2018 SONY TAKE NOTE!. Despite no Dolby Vision (for NOW , SONY!) the tv produces very sharp images with great Colour fidelity, you won't need to add saturation or sharpness out of the box, it isn't a tv that makes you go WOW, it isn't artificial, hyper sharpened and over Chroma'd like some of the LG's. But feed in a great piece of 4k content and it makes you sit up and appreciate the realism of the picture. I'm using an Apple 4K tv with mine and content from youtube, Amazon and Netflix all captivate and involve. Some of the footage on "The Grand Tour" is like standing next to the vehicles. so, if the picture is your concern, its as good as anything out there, which considering that the majority of television content is shot on Sony hardware should not be a surprise. The sound features are not what I bought it for, however good the speakers are they'll never compete with my audio system and I tend not to have the speaker turned on. In that respect my set is wall mounted and the enormous easel speaker makes it stand a little too proud of the wall (but thats not a big complaint, just worth noting if you want to wall mount). I would have preferred a cheaper cost without the clever speakers personally. Sonys manual is woeful, I cannot find any references to setting up my HDMI sources in the way I would choose, the ARC function remains hit and miss and the TV interferes with the second room of my sky box (suggesting to me that HDMI control is switching in secret, I'd like to know how to disable it), the work around being that I need to disconnect the HDMI hat connects the SKY hd overnight, this will eventually wear out the HDMI socket I guess. If you search their online resource it is no better (SONY please note) also their process of registering is a pain because their "I am not a robot" script can show you pages and pages of pictures before you reach the site. Finally I'd like to comment on setup, I cannot get the tv bright enough to blow out hi lights on a brightness test chart, this suggests to me that the TV I have might be not running optimally, AV forums says that this TV is extremely bright and their suggested settings makes mine look greyed out, so for me there isn't enough headroom in the brightness. Overall though this is a superb television providing very natural, bright (just enough no more), extremely detailed images. The menu system is rubbish (it is android so hopefully the programmers will go to work), its clunky and can crash, there is on youtube a way to access the "pro" engineering menus to remove some of the apps which slow the menu, personally though I haven't bothered In the questionnaire below we are asked about the features of the product and to rate them, this set for me is a utilitarian workhorse that I use as a monitor for other sources, I don't really use apps through the tv and prefer to use other parts of the system hence my meagre scores in some categories. I would highly recommend the set if you want an accurate good looking television though. I haven't seen much better anywhere- even at work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Fantastic picture, clever sound & stand

164 cm (65") 07 January 2018 by andydavy (United Kingdom)

I went to the shop to buy a 65" LG screen and saw this, demonstrating a clearly superior picture. I don't really need the sound, as that runs through a separate system, but it's amazingly good considering it has no front-facing speakers (other than the screen itself - really very clever). Although it is now on the wall, we had it resting on its stand for a while - which works very well - incredibly stable with the immense weight added as part of the rear stand design. Thankfully that extra weight is ditched when it goes on the wall. If I have a complaint, it's that it could do with 4 x high bandwidth HMI inputs (not 2) so HDR could be available on all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but very slow and clunky software

164 cm (65") 07 January 2018 by Spodge (United Kingdom)

I bought the KD65A1 a week before Christmas and was very much looking forward to using it. Very easy to setup and has a crystal clear picture. The sound is the best I’ve heard for a flat screen. The actual software is very slow and clunky and the Opera browser is not great at all. The Sony play store did not have many available apps as the play store on google. I tried to install the hive heating app but it was unavailable and a few other apps I searched for were not available either. I tried to go through the Opera browser to the hive website and save it as a bookmark but once again when logged in to hive could not select anything using the on screen mouse pointer. So had to go to the trouble of having to try and sideboard it using puffin tv. I’m disabled and have to use a universal remote (Possum) with a button on my chest, which means I’m unable to use a blue tooth remote for some of the sideloaded apps. I’m also having a slow internet connection, I’ve tried both WiFi and Lan but both average around 30 Mbps. I have a 200 Mbps download speed with virgin media super hub 3. Overall the sound and picture are 5 out of 5 but needs work on the android side of things.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

The acoustic surface is a fantastic innovation.

139 cm (55") 07 January 2018 by Indiana john (United Kingdom)

We bought this television as a upgrade from our existing Sony tv. We are still finding features as we explore. The clarity of picture and the sound adjustment to make it easier to hear what we want to hear is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lots of features that need to be mastered

164 cm (65") 07 January 2018 by Sarg (United Kingdom)

Lovely clear pics and clarity . The remote has quick connection s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good picture good sound quality lovely telly

164 cm (65") 06 January 2018 by Mick04 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 1month ago as the price was right for the quality of the product bought.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An amazing piece of technology

164 cm (65") 06 January 2018 by stfc (United Kingdom)

Wow! What a fantastic picture with sound from the screen. Makes our other TVs look a bit dull. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality

164 cm (65") 06 January 2018 by Th3orem (United Kingdom)

I've had my 65" A1 oled for a couple of weeks now, and when the screen is being driven properly, including streaming videos from my phone you get an amazingly sharp picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, poor software

139 cm (55") 06 January 2018 by Sandman3 (United Kingdom)

Great picture and good sound but the software needs fixing. Upscales Standard Definition very well and no problem with fast moving sports pictures. It can not receive UHD on BBC iplayer - this model is not on the BBC list of compatible devices for Blue Planet 2 in UHD. It only allows the ITV player if you use YouView but if you activate YouView HDD recording does not work for anything. When you have a HDD connected and YouView disabled, you can record but can't pause live TV or rewind unless you are recording as well. Providing Sony fix these problems and continue to support and upgrade the software, this could be a great TV. At the moment is has a great picture but you do not expect bugs at this price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Picture Quality and Sound is awesome

139 cm (55") 06 January 2018 by BigdogD (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV a few weeks ago, can't stop watching it, the clarity is amazing, the sound can be tailored to suit your requirements, moderating those annoying background noises and enhancing the speech in films , so you can actually hear what is being said. Also you can set the volume to remain the same through all channels, none of the loud adverts and low volume on HD, quite a leap forward for flat-screen TV's and this one is so thin, it is amazing with the built in sub woofer in the stand back together with the screen acting as the speaker. Super OLED technology gives a superb picture, this is one of the few TV's where the up-scaling is stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0