146

3.0 based on 146 customer reviews

24
31
36
26
29
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03 November 2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07 December 2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

147 Customer Reviews

0

DO THESE WORK WITH VIDEO NOW?!

WF-1000X 18 April 2018 by dcbaker (USA)

Ok, maybe I'm overly optimistic but, my headphones are starting to work with video (meaning no lag) now and they haven't been doing that before. Is this something you guys are working on? Other than that, my only complaint is sometimes the connection drops when I'm walking around campus. Solid product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrific Travel

WF-1000X 14 April 2018 by normanfgreen (United Kingdom)

Not my first wireless earbuds but the first with active noise cancelling. Tested that on the tube last week. Great sound (excellent for my 67 year old ears) and wonderful noise cancelling. Putting buds into case is very positive. Fooled me at first (so did not charge) but now I have a two-click technique, I know the earbuds are secure and charging (which is reinforced with flashing indicators).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound, slightly flawed

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by Andwat120 (United Kingdom)

Bought these two weeks ago in gold. They sound great however are flawed because of a cheap feeling charging case and the headphones themselves whilst light and comfortable feel cheap. they also fit well with a good choice of tips. The right earpiece does tend to cut out from time to time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dissapointed - especially for phone calls

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by Steve Wonder (USA)

Used it a few days now. I am dissapointed about the only left ear phone call ability. The sound qualitiy for phone calls is very poor. Even when using iPhone. I am not able to understand parts of the conversation. Bluetooth connection has many breaks either when listening to music or making phone calls (having my iPhone in the pocket). When calling with the Sony 1000X people I am talking with tell me the sound quality is really bad. Especially with background noise (in the car with open window, at the railway station..). Sound quality for music is decent but not great. Bass lacks a little bit and sometimes the right speaker has problems keeping in sync with the main one (which is the left ear piece). I would not buy it again - especially for this price!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loses connection too easily

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by sucunnuemammatua (USA)

overall I like the concept, and what it needs to be improved on is battery life (though they recharge quickly), and definetly the connectivity which is not seamless, as it cuts out when turning my head (at least when I pair it to either my samsung s8 or s5), also you can advert the noise cancelling is working, but I am not sure how effective it is in this implementation.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

No sound in right earphone during calls

WF-1000X 10 April 2018 by Keks88 (USA)

During calls right earphone has no sound. Any plans to fix it Sony?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst shop of headphones ever

WF-1000X 09 April 2018 by AVKM (USA)

I bought those at the airport before my trip to try them with the airplane noise. It was hopeless. It takes long to charge the batteries who last tops 3 hours and there's no difference between "ambient sound" and "noise cancelling" features. They are not even comfy to hav inside the ear.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sound is best I have experienced but..............

WF-1000X 09 April 2018 by kst8er86 (USA)

Just bought these yesterday and going to give it a good trial before I decide what to do. First off though, the sound is the best I have experienced in any headphone, any style/type. Clear, crisp, good volume. Android app is excellent to fine tune experience and left side button is nice to have to be able to change listening experience. Contrary to some comments I have seen on here, the right ear piece does have a button you just click twice rapidly to advance to next song. The noise cancelling works well also. Nice solid seal and no outside noise for the most part. Now for the cons. On several occasions already I will hear a beep, temporary loss of bluetooth signal and then music comes back on. Also, there is an annoying half to full second lag with video or for example in my phone app, Poweramp, when I press to go to next song. Part of previous song is still playing when I am already in next song in cue. Finally, I realized when I bought these that they are not made to be sweat resistant. Most of the time I will use these is when walking or exercising. I think the most frustrating thing the sound is incredible, the price, considering its shortcomings, is a bit high. As I have looked around for other options I am finding there aren't a whole lot on the market. Ultimately. I think I will return these and either wait till the market opens up a bit or perhaps look in to the Jabra line.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wireless ear buds spoilt by noice cancelling

WF-1000X 07 April 2018 by Marsey76 (United Kingdom)

These ear buds are great. That is the bottom line. However the downside is the Noice Cancelling (NC). First the bad news. The NC offers nothing to improve these ear buds, they do a great job of isolating external sounds without it. For me it is just a gimmick and Sony would have been better making these earbuds cheaper without NC. Also, I have attributed the reported drop outs of the right ear bud to the NC. Without NC on the ear bud connection is rock solid. Put it on and the drop outs are frequent. Frustratingly NC is on by default and so you have to turn it off every-time you turn the ear buds on. Sony really needs to fix this in a future software drop. If I but a rubbish equaliser setting on it remembers this so why not other options I have selected. Now the good news. Even given the above problem I would still recommend these ear buds. The sound is clear, from delicate notes to heavier bass. At no point do they get overwhelmed by the amount of sounds being played and composed all the time. Putting some wired ear buds back in makes you realise how good the sound actually is. The design of the ear buds is also very good. They are light and very comfortable, and you can wear them for the full 3 hour charge without problem. The case and ear bud integration is also well thought out. Take the earbuds out and they turn on automatically. Put them back in the case and they start to charge. The case to me is not too large and easily fits in your pocket. It is also not very heavy. So if you want some great sounding wireless ear buds then these are great. If you want noise cancelling as well then maybe consider some over ears. But from various NC units I have used i don't feel there is any value in NC overall as a concept. Other options are available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works as described

WF-1000X 07 April 2018 by Garry69 (United Kingdom)

I had in mind to use them while asleep, but they only play for three hours, then annoyingly they switch off and the phone takes over and annoys and wakes up the wife. Using them in the evening had the same effect,” what is that noise “, well, it was my phone, so to date I have not used them much, a great shame.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slightly disappointed

WF-1000X 05 April 2018 by NannyJulie (United Kingdom)

Finding the charging case clumsy to use as the buds do not always sit correctly and then do not charge.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

First review ever

WF-1000X 01 April 2018 by Thun75 (USA)

I have never left a review for any product I purchase or have ever used. I am a tech enthuiast so I consider myself someone that is familiar on different products. I have recently been on a true wireless kick. I have purchased Bose, Jabra and now these Sony. I have tried this Sony model for 3 days and sound quality is great. But one major deal breaker for me is the fact is that there is a lag when watching videos. I will most likely return them and stick to the Jabra elite 65t even though I believe these headphones have better features and sound quality. I might get the sony wf-sp700n when they finally decide to release them. I hope that newer model is better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

disappointment

WF-1000X 01 April 2018 by mino34 (USA)

Missing basses, disconnection issues, I returned them

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Potential great, marred by poor connectivity

WF-1000X 31 March 2018 by Abrar (United Kingdom)

The sound quality on these wireless buds is class leading. Unfortunately, that's where the fun ends - performance across the board: connectivity, stability, NC features, latency is all middling and erratic, even after the firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not quite great

WF-1000X 27 March 2018 by RedSigmund (United Kingdom)

They look nice, are very comfortable, and the sound quality is very good. They don't always turn on automatically out of the charging box, the connection between the two sometimes drops and the Noise cancelling could be better. They are innovative but need improvement.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Gen1 Product. Too Many Issues

WF-1000X 26 March 2018 by 82bj42 (USA)

I really wanted to like this earbuds. They're the perfect form factor. They aren't huge like Bose and don't look stupid like the Apple ones, but the microphone, connection, and watching videos are just too awful of an experience. Not many people talk about the microphone on bluetooth headsets. This is a key feature for me since I spend a lot of my day on the phone. Unfortunately these buds allow way too much background noise. I've basically given up on using them for calls. Second is the connection. I've upgraded the firmware. Dropouts came back within the first 5 minutes. It's basically made zero improvement for me. Finally video lag is the most maddening. It's downright deceptive to just not mention the issue on the product pages. I've seen the posts from the product team on here. Calling this a limitation of the technology is frankly lazy. If other products (i.e. Apple and Samsung) can have no lag when watching videos this product never should have been released with that issue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Awesome!

WF-1000X 24 March 2018 by AndyTVR (United Kingdom)

Bought these because of the noise cancelling feature which is great. Sound quality excellent. Only slight downside is that battery life is slightly shorter than advertised - I’ve only managed about 2.5 hours.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

VERY BAD DESIGN, REQUIRES A COMPUTER TO CHARGE

WF-1000X 22 March 2018 by past_sony_user (USA)

Why would any design products that require a computer to charge them. When traveling I don't want to lug around a large laptop. All I want is my phone, a small wall charger, and wireless noise canceling headphones. I need to charge then while on a long flight, during layovers at hotels, and at airports. The last thing I need is to carry extra stuff just to support a poor design. From what I can see all sony's headphones require an active (non hibernating) computer to charge the headphones. WHY? I own a sony TV, a sony DSLR, a sony Blue ray player and love them all; I think their design and build quality is far above the competition; but after reading the user manuals for their truly wireless and Bluetooth headphones I am completely turned off by their engineering.

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Only left earbud works for calls!

WF-1000X 21 March 2018  (USA)

Music plays stereo on both earbuds, whereas the calls and voice prompt feedbacks are only on the left earbud. I wasn't able to find any solution to this on the internet. Such a highly priced pair of earbuds should've been less problematic. I would appreciate if I receive any support/feedback from the users or support staff.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 18 March 2018 by SusieQube (United Kingdom)

Really good quality sound and they stay put and are very comfortable in my difficult to fit ears. However I’d like to be able to pause play from the earbuds if someone needs to talk to me as they take too long to turn off. Also the charge doesn’t really last very long and the sound drops out rather too often especially in the left ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very good product - eventually

WF-1000X 14 March 2018 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom)

I was initially disappointed with the bass response of the headphones but, with a lot of swapping of the earbuds I got there. sound is very clear and detailed. excellent mid range and (now) meaty bass response. Right ear does cut out briefly every now and then but it's no biggie. highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Effective Headphones

WF-1000X 12 March 2018 by William Wallace (United Kingdom)

If you don't want a full set of over ear phones these are great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product.

WF-1000X 12 March 2018 by Francoprimo (United Kingdom)

Absolutely fantastic, sounds better than any Headphones have owned up to date, I have 6 pairs at present some of which are far more expensive. Very impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best.

WF-1000X 09 March 2018 by Andyben (United Kingdom)

So simple to hook up to iPhone X and Microsoft Surface Pro. Great sound, decent noise cancellation and stable connection. Charges last days of my commute. Recommend Sony Music Centre for iOS phones etc. Best part, comfort and fit is beyond comparison.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good headphones. HORRIBLE update procedure!

WF-1000X 08 March 2018 by BigChief (USA)

Good: Small, comfortable fit, lots of ear bud sizes included, I found noise canceling to be very good. Sound quality is good compared to some other in-ear headphones I have used. Bad: 37 minute update? OK no biggie, however there is no way to push an update to these earbuds besides using an app on your phone. Anytime I get a call, text, or push notification, the update fails. So I basically have to render my phone useless for over a half hour. Sony shows that you charge the carrying case, which charges the earbuds, via USB cable connected to your computer. Why then can't we update via computer? Oh right, the earbuds turn off when you put them in the case. You've made a really good device with great features fail miserably on the back end.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Good earpieces, but I have two complaints even wit

WF-1000X 08 March 2018 by Istid (USA)

I really enjoy these, lightweight and good for my need, but I have two issues one major and one less important. 1. I did the update but still my right earpiece drops out every minute or so. I think this happens more often when paired to my Apple Watch than my iPhone. I’m also wondering if the cause of this could be that the right earpiece might have powered off during the update and did not receive it. If that’s a possible reason I should be able to update again, something I cannot figure out how to do.. 2. I like to listen with only one earpiece in my ear at the time, I’m able to do that with my left and charge the right one at the same time, but I can’t do the opposite... if it’s a hardware problem I just have to live with it. But maybe just maybe it would be possible to code it so that the left could stay in the charger and the right one would keep playing:)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Soundstage. Great noise cancelling.

WF-1000X 06 March 2018 by NikGee (USA)

I have these for a week now, and the problem mentioned by others ie. Bluetooth sound delay while playing youtube is very evident. That said, the soundstage created by these 6mm dome speakers is simply fantastic. As a longtime user of Bose QC20, I found the soundstage out of this world. As far as noise cancellation, I have found that set it in "Transport" mode and they rival the Bose QC20. In other modes, it allows a sense of awareness, keeping in touch with your ambiance while filtering out all the annoying droning, buzzing and loud talking people around you. Amazing job Sony. Just fix the bluetooth left/right sync, remove the delay and these are the very best!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bad conection!

WF-1000X 06 March 2018  (USA)

I've just use this 2 days ago! And i have problem with conection, the right one usually lost conection! Very bad

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

simply a bad product

WF-1000X 05 March 2018 by Renaat (USA)

I bought these headphones 2 days ago and have been using them for a grand total of 15 minutes. Audio-lag while watching video is far too noticeable. Making a phone call inside/outside is simply impossible (other side can not hear me) Audio cuts out at a stressful rate. During a phone call only the left earpeace works. serious lack of controls. Bulky design. Took over 3h to perform a firmware update. I do not understand how you justify the price tag on a product of such bad quality. In every way headphones should work, these fail. I will return them later this week. I'm done with sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Very Disappointed

WF-1000X 02 March 2018 by Ikariusrising (USA)

I just got mine this week end will be returning them as they are useless for my needs. Pro's They sound great and are designed great. Con's I have always loved Sony head phones in general and the Bluetooth one in particular. I've owned the MW600, the SBH50, the 950's. They all had the unique function of pairing with two devices. I loved that about Sony, they are the only company innovative enough to do this. Not Beats, Not JBL, or Bose, but Sony. I loved the fact I can listen to my iPad for music and answer my phone when it rings. These don't do that, in fact they don't do much. I can't advance to another song, replay or change the volume. I bought them for the hands free functionality and they don't do that either. It's a high price Bluetooth I have paired with my phone to drive and avoid getting a ticket. They should be water proofed or rated, the cheaper models are but these are not. Sony please redesign these with above mentioned functions and I will sign your praises. These were a miss.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love color and size but connection!

WF-1000X 02 March 2018 by MrsDee (USA)

Let me start off by saying this... I love the design, color (I have the champagne color) and size. I was looking for a cute and girly wireless earbud BUT with a GREAT sound. Well the sound is ok, I have had better headphones. Now my BIGGEST ISSUE is the right ear bud keep cutting off and losing connection. Sometimes even make a buzzing noise. Something is seriously going on if most of all the reviews say the same things. These headphones are not cheap! I tried the update but seems as no update is needed because the version is have is 1.0.7. I also noticed that Sony is replying to everyone reviews with a generic copy and paste reply. How to reply back to me is answering questions. Customers take time out to write reviews. When will this problem be fixed? How soon can we get update? What do you think what went wrong? How can it be fixed?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Quality and performance not good for the price.

WF-1000X 28 February 2018 by Bad290 (USA)

I bought two week ago and I have had several problems with the volume, the quality of the sounds and the sound in the right ear goes in and out all the time. The noise canceling in very poor, I can hear the music in the gym and the the people talking.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Good sound quality

WF-1000X 28 February 2018 by Babster (United Kingdom)

A nice looking and well built product perfect for travelling and running although battery life is relatively short (1.5 hrs playing) and apparently 9 hours recharge but not sure about that. Noise cancelling? What noise cancelling. Ambient sound is exactly the same with cancelling switched on or off. Sound quality is superb but the right hand headphone randomly drops connection which can be a bit annoying. If Sony can overcome the hit and miss WiFi connection on the right hand headphone I’d give it 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible connection!!!

WF-1000X 28 February 2018 by Jordenk (USA)

huge audio delay with video on any source. Horrible buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

audio and video having delay

WF-1000X 26 February 2018 by Zeaon (USA)

audio is still out of sync and I think I've worked out why. If I just connect the left earbud there's no problem, but as soon as you connect the right earbud the audio starts going out of sync on youtube. Had already updated to the latest firmware 1.0.7 and still facing the same problem

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Serious connection issues

WF-1000X 25 February 2018 by FRAF (USA)

I bought my pair of earbuds two months ago. When I am inside a room the connectivity is good and they sound great (given their size and the fact they are true wireless earbuds). Once in the streets (New York City), the experience is a disaster. The sound in the right earbud constantly cuts off, sometimes for 15 or 20 seconds. It is impossible to listen to one song without 2 or 3 interruptions in the right earbud. I updated the software using the app and I played with the connectivity over sound setup to improve this, I even switched off the noise cancelling feature but, nothing helped. I really wanted to love these earbuds but they are simply not fit for their actual purpose.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fundamental Launch Problems Remain

WF-1000X 24 February 2018 by Rich A (United Kingdom)

Bought them a week ago and brand new out of the box they needed a firmware update! The fundamental flaw of right ear loss of sound is not mentioned in reviews, but well documented on forums. The Firmware update has not cured this. The sound quality is only average and not comparable to my cheaper wired headset.

Sound Quality

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Faultless performance

WF-1000X 24 February 2018  (United Kingdom)

Can not fault these at all, slight rare drop out initially was fixed by update. The work superbly and sound is awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

WF-1000X 22 February 2018 by MPG1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this after trying a different brand which failed after two weeks, easy to follow instructions and no problem pairing with my phone

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

WF-1000X 22 February 2018 by Hutch_D (United Kingdom)

The earphones are good, I would recommend them. The connectivity could be better, but that could be a Bluetooth issue in general.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

not good

WF-1000X 20 February 2018 by stopthenow (USA)

I must say, I have been a sony fan boy since the mid 90's. Every piece of electronics I own is Sony. I recently purchased these and I must say they are the worst items I have every had with the name Sony on them. The fact that these are available for sale is crazy. The sound repeatedly cuts out from the right ear. It is impossible to watch youtube or any videos because there is a two second lag. Nothing you do can solve these problems. Not firmware, not the app, nothing. These have severely tarnished my opinion of the Sony Brand.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

my wireless headphones...

WF-1000X 19 February 2018 by philippeds (United Kingdom)

would like some more hard- or software features, but over all the sound is good, especially the stereo separation !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent sound and functionality

WF-1000X 15 February 2018 by andw99 (USA)

Sound quality is very good, no problems with drop-outs when using the dedicated Sony Headphones app and by selecting the right buds the sound isolation and noise cancelling are equal to any on the market. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Video and audio don't sync

WF-1000X 13 February 2018 by Tscales (USA)

I just bought them at an airport. Good thing I tried them out. Had to return them. Audio sync was off 5 to 7 seconds. How could they even ship this product?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Very Innovative, great sound

WF-1000X 13 February 2018 by kiwidave69 (United Kingdom)

A great pair of wireless, small, portable earphones. These do work really well when you realize what they are meant to do. They are not to replace bulky over the ear headsets, they are not meant to silence the outside world and they are designed for people moving about. As with all wireless kit (such as your phone) they are affected by other wireless sources of radiation. I have had them for about a month while I travel throughout Europe and they fit the role above. As a better sounding alternative to the apple earbuds, they are worth the money. The only thing I have noticed is the choice of buds does make a big difference to the sound quality and noise reduction - had to try a range of sizes and material before I found the best fit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sound good

WF-1000X 02 February 2018 by Mac932 (United Kingdom)

Sound is very good considering size etc. Right hand ear drops out sometimes but not enough to annoy me. Noise cancelling works well. Fit is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great earbuds!

WF-1000X 31 January 2018 by raulhoyos (USA)

I bought them 2 days ago, tested yesterday and at first sight, the right bud seem to have a signal problem because it stop sounding constantly. Then I downloaded the headphones app, update the firmware and select the option of better signal instead of better sound quality. And man, the change is tremendous! Great sound quality indeed and the noise cancelling feature it's outstanding. I travel yesterday and use them on the airplane and was really surprised. And for the bus or metro, just use the ambient noise filter. Cons: No control to swipe songs or increase or decrease volume, but it's not a big deal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The lag is killing me

WF-1000X 30 January 2018 by bibul (USA)

i would've give this a 5 star. it's good for listening music, trash for movie or even watching youtube. it doesn't lag with only left earphone is on, but when you take the right one they do lag. and sometimes the connection cut off

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Superb sound let down my major flaws

WF-1000X 29 January 2018 by ARig (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is superb but a couple of significant design flaws has resulted in me returning the item. Number 1. Watching video is not a realistic option due to a 1 to 2 second time lag between audio and video. 2. Despite installing the latest firmware I still experienced a number of audio drop outs from the right earpiece. Although I experimented with numerous earpiece options the earphones never felt particularly secure. This would give me cause for concern if using them whilst exercising. In summary, close but no cigar. Must try harder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Great except right ear drops

WF-1000X 24 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound. Very comfortable. Very good noise canceling. Good storage and charging box. ONLY thing that let's these ear buds down is the amount of times the right channel drops out. I updated with latest firmware and use with new Sony Xperia xa1 phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

What I love and My wishlist for WF-1000xm2

WF-1000X 21 January 2018 by Longsama (USA)

As a guy that works in a headphone shop I have access to all your main competition and these are fantastic truly wireless headphones. I'm only writing this review because I want you to know what works well and what I improvements would make it a no brainer for the next model. I think the sound profile is incredibly engaging delightful to listen especially when compared to everything else in this category(i.e Beoplay E8's, Bose Soundsport Free, Jaybird Run). The fit, weight, size and inclusion of foam tips make this one of the most comfortable available(second only to the Jaybird Run). Change nothing about this because it feels great and looks good with a suit( to a lot of customers who end up purchasing over the Bose that's a key thing). Only noise canceler in this category, and the implementation is great but I would appreciate (battery effenciency permitting) similar flexibility that you have on the WI and WH 1000x. The biggest improvements that I'd like to see in the next model would be some degree of waterproofing, aptxhd/LDAC support, better call quality(also playing calls out of both ears), and a 5 hour minimum battery life. I know these things are challenging due to the size of the design but I did see qualcomm released a new bluetooth chip which should help extend the battery life with the most minimal footprint(and possibly afford you more wiggle room to increase noise cancelling power). Your customer base seem s to be in large part the business/traveler and to them calls can make or break a deal(The Bose soundport free and Beoplay E8's excel in this category and it has lost you a couple sales despite the price difference). You made LDAC and got google to make it massively available(whenever they finally decide to rollout Android Oreo to everyone), take advantage it does give a leg up over a lot of your competition. It was also a key reason I bought the WH1000xm2 myself. The waterproofing is more minor but would give you guys more flexibility as a gym option. Overall these are fantastic and the only reason I take the time to write this wishlist is because I believe the number 1 spot is genuinely within your grasp.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

I love them

WF-1000X 21 January 2018 by THOFF (USA)

They are not perfect - video lag is the biggest concern for me. Some random drops on right ear, but I can live with that and it appears better with firmware update. Otherwise, sound is great considering and love the look and comfort. NC is not great, but given device size, its amazing imo.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Mobile Sound

WF-1000X 17 January 2018 by Ernest1 (United Kingdom)

Good quality and sound, and handy in the house for being able to move about without being attached to my tablet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

No Volume Control

WF-1000X 14 January 2018 by rcesar22 (USA)

How can a company like Sony produce a headphone WITHOUT volume control !?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

8

0

Disappointing product, may well return it!

WF-1000X 10 January 2018 by DLJA (United Kingdom)

Bought this product twelve days ago and so far I’m not impressed. Despite upgrading the earphones to the latest version the right earphone drops the sign quite often, despite the proximity of the source. The upgrade process was a nightmare. Ten times I tried and ten times it failed. Finally after turning off every other Bluetooth device in the house the upgrade worked. Was this process ever tested in a real world environment? I seriously doubt it!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

3

0

Great Sound & Comfort Still a Slight Glitch

WF-1000X 10 January 2018 by Jon the Jag (United Kingdom)

I have had these about two weeks, they sound great and are really comfortable and stay in ears even when doing heavy exercise. the only slight issue is the occasional drop out from the right ear piece. I did update the firmware and this improved matters a lot but did not totally Cure the issue. it does not not happen that often and it only means you get a slight gap in the music, you do not have to reconnect. Overall really good aparty from that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

1000x wireless noise cancelling headphones

WF-1000X 09 January 2018 by Babsraytaylor (United Kingdom)

Had a few weeks now. Really great sound and worth every penny

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

So far, so good...

WF-1000X 08 January 2018 by sarpal (United Kingdom)

The quality and finish is well up to Sony standard and the instructions are thorough and easy to follow. The most important feature - sound quality, is surprisingly good and I am pleasantly surprised each time I put them on/in. Only two slight issues noted so far; wearing a beanie hat affects the comfort and sound quality as it presses on the earbud. Also, I'm still learning how to sequence bluetooth on and earbuds in - sometimes I have problems with right bud (no sound). When it works, it's simple and intuitive. Noise cancelling appears to work but does require a good bud fit - this is my first experience of noise cancelling so I can't compare. The simple button controls work well, once you get the muscle memory working! Overall, I'm glad I purchased them and expect to get plenty of use from them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 07 January 2018 by ruscle85 (United Kingdom)

Been using for a couple of weeks. Before purchasing I thought they woukd stick quite far out of my ears but are pretty discrete. The sound is very good quality. The app is a bit basic but does its job. Now and again the connection drops off between the earbuds but nothing major at all, reconnecting itself after a second or less. Overall a great set of headphones and worth paying the little bit extra over airpods.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 07 January 2018 by Del246 (United Kingdom)

I didn’t want to believe all the reviews I had read so decided to purchase a pair as they had everything I wanted in a new set of earphones. Firstly, the audio impresssed me but when I watched a video the delay was so bad, video was unwatchable. I then noticed there was a firmware update so tried this. I tried for 2 days but couldn’t get the update to complete via my iPhone 8. I had to borrow an android phone and the update installed first time. The update corrected the video lag. I have now been using the earphones for a week and the main issue is the right earpiece. No matter what I’m doing, sitting in the house, going for a walk, sitting in a car the right earpiece drops connectivity. It happens in every situation no matter what settings I have on the app. Sometimes it happens 3 or 4 times in one song, sometimes I get 20 minutes without any loss. When they work properly, they are great but that isn’t very often. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Mrs J Miller.

WF-1000X 06 January 2018 by joycee (United Kingdom)

Got these as a gift, so easy to use but not keen on how to charge up.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing technology, so-so noise cancelling

WF-1000X 04 January 2018 by sigpgud (United Kingdom)

Remarkable technology in a tiny package. However, it is not perfect. The bluetooth reception isn't great and the noise cancelling could be better. If you buy these thinking that you're getting noise cancelling on par with the Bose QuietComfort 35, you might be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty sweet

WF-1000X 29 December 2017 by KingsOfLiam (United Kingdom)

Having already owned the WH-1000x I wasn't expecting amazing noise cancelling from these however I was pleasantly surprised with how they performed. They have a clear sound, nothing amazing but really they're Sonny's first attempt at truly wireless and I have tried the competition and personally I preferred Sony's attempt a lot more than Samsung/apple/jaybird. Overall, very good audio, noise cancelling is solid, the connection issues are sometimes a problem as there is a lot of Bluetooth interference in my home however that's not very common after the last update!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, no noise cancellation

WF-1000X 28 December 2017 by TechGuy17 (USA)

Is it just my pair, or is the noise cancellation on the WF-1000x practically non existent? Coming from Bose, I had hopes of adequate noise cancellation with a better truly wireless form factor. I cannot tell a difference when noise cancellation is on or off with these. The overall sound quality, comfort and performance is excellent (and great to cut the cords from previous wireless earbuds). Even got the firmware upgrade done smoothly. Just wish there was ANC. Might be returning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

great sound

WF-1000X 27 December 2017 by arabo (USA)

I bought this 2 month ago and its great but still thinks sony can do way better on it projects

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Perfect pairing

WF-1000X 26 December 2017  (United Kingdom)

Sounds great an fits my ears very good. Only Noise cancelling on My Bose works better. Travel Box is nice and compact and easy TO use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Good sound

WF-1000X 26 December 2017 by Argasp (USA)

Very satisfied with this product. I have had absolutely no problems with the Bluetooth connection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Very Poor Quality

WF-1000X 24 December 2017 by ScubaSt3v3 (USA)

I am still trying to figure out if these are Sony headphones. I am completely shocked at the poor sound quality, consistent disconnects, and lack of comfort. I tried the update and the disconnects got even worse. Please get back to the quality Sony experience that I am used to.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

6

0

Video latency

WF-1000X 22 December 2017  (USA)

The sound of the earbuds is great but it is almost impossible to watch any videos with them because of the audio lag which can be a couple seconds off. It is extremely annoying and makes watching anything unbearable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

32

3

0

Poor connection and lag

WF-1000X 22 December 2017 by Peter130045 (USA)

The right earbud always drop off . When I watch video the sound always lag behind for like 1 second. Very disappointed on this earphone. Don't deserve such price.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

26

1

0

Audio latency while watching videos is bad

WF-1000X 20 December 2017 by K24z7 (USA)

They are great for listening to music, but even with the update audio latency while watching a movie is a major deal breaker. It's almost a complete second off. Unfortunately it ruins the experience and needs to be fixed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

30

2

0

Simply awesome

WF-1000X 16 December 2017 by CRobinT (United Kingdom)

I purchased these earphones at Heathrow airport thinking they where convenient but nothing special. To my surprise I found then quite literally awesome. Excellent sound quality combined with first class noise cancelling abilities make them as amazing and totally rewarding buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8