531

4.3 based on 531 customer reviews

293
161
35
21
21
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02 October 2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29 September 2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

532 Customer Reviews

0

very good

DSC-W830 15 June 2019 by carchie016 (United Kingdom)

this is my 2nd one and it is grate... the camera is small, good quality image, and lite. would recomend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Classic

DSCW830 12 June 2019 by CKS75 (USA)

Sony's Cybershot range of cameras are a staple of reliable, simple and easy to use cameras that get the job done. They also do this in a compact manner (compared to its competitors) and the classsic styling make them age well. Overall a very good point-and-shoot camera that will last for years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like it

DSC-W830 10 June 2019 by pingpong2019 (United Kingdom)

After years of using DSLR cameras I wanted something lightweight and compact for everyday use. It is easy to use and very lightweight compared to my heavy gear. I haven't had chance to use all the features yet but point and shoot is great.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great and user friendly features

DSCW830B 04 June 2019 by Sanddy (USA)

This was sent to me by warranty company to replace a camera that was stolen. Excellent choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good and Bad in Parts, like the Curate's Egg.

DSC-W830 29 May 2019 by CHLTN2 (United Kingdom)

On the whole its alright. The disadvantage is that the macro close up focus which is meant to be automatic, doesn't give sharp focus. I like its small compact size.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

compact easy to use

DSC-W830 28 May 2019 by lhw13 (United Kingdom)

the prouduct is compact light weight easy to carryin your hand bag. simple to use and produces great pictures but wished it had a touch screen or something different from arrow keys. good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Easy to Use!

DSCW830 26 May 2019 by rooR (USA)

I am a beginner, yet have found this camera incredibly easy to operate. Already I am taking all kinds of pictures and am quickly learning how to use all the different features--everything is explained. And it's so compact and lightweight that I can carry it everywhere and spontaneously capture an image in a moments 'flash'. The zoom really zooms, and some of the close-ups ('some' because I, myself, am not as accurate as the camera) are amazingly detailed. The experience of using this camera is so much better than using a phone camera. I tried out other camera brands and chose this Sony. I'm so glad I did!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Survived One Of Worst Places -

DSCW830B 25 May 2019 by Lindell (USA)

Spent 16 days in The Amazon Jungle Rainforest, and The Very Hot Galapagos Islands. The Amazon is "Nasty", the hottest, most humid, rains constantly. I thought the camera would "conked-out". It didn't, worked just fine - but I almost didn't.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good compact camera

DSC-W830 14 May 2019 by Keith6 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and its simple to use and I like the picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W830 11 May 2019 by Starman1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to take some quick snaps at a wedding I was attending and got some lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Used for Blogging

DSC-W830/BC E32 08 May 2019 by Guwapo (Singapore)

We bought about a month ago. A bit disappointing that the unit didn't come with wifi. Competitors of the same price point offer such additional feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat and compact

DSC-W830 06 May 2019 by Old Biddy (United Kingdom)

Wannted a small compact camera that i could carry everywhere with me. This camera does this perfectly and it is easy to use and the results are wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 05 May 2019 by blister (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a 12 year old Sony camera that was worn out and it is better than the last one which was pretty good. To date the camera the camera is performing well and is producing sharp clear photos. Only gripe is that there is a bit of a lapse when the screen goes blank between pressing the button and the camera being ready for the next shot. But that be my unfamiliarity with all the settings. I've long been an admirer of Sony having bought a nine inch portable television in 1971. Sony went to the moon with Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin don't ya know. Tht's a pretty good recommendation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My second one other W350

DSCW830B 27 April 2019 by Paatrick (USA)

Bought 6 months ago Had W 350 for 4-5 years and happy with it until I doped it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice camera

DSCW830 13 April 2019 by clarabell (USA)

Small and easy to carry with me for taking photos of special occasions at our retirement community.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

happy

DSC-W830 05 April 2019 by andyw1701 (United Kingdom)

very happy very pic,s good size to have in pocket easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent colour rendering

DSC-W830 04 April 2019 by RobbieX (United Kingdom)

Bought this because I like the look of the camera and it was 20MP. I read reviews and found that most people loved it. I tried it out and it's great. I've had several point and shooters but this one reproduces colours really accurately and produces great clear shots through its Zeiss lens. The image stabilization works great even at maximum zoom. I love the Intelligent Auto too. Great little shooter this one!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 25 March 2019 by Fightfans (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera at the end of February after my Nikon stopped working, the quality of the photos and videos are excellent. I am delighted with this camera and would happily recommended it to my family and friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy little gadget

DSC-W830 21 March 2019 by Dijord (United Kingdom)

I got thus 2 weeks ago for my asian cruise holiday and I must say that it didnt disappoint. Excellent pictures and also an easy and convenient panoramic shoots too.Awesome.I also found the videoing very easy to do.Brilluant pics and videos.I had taken a panoramic shot in Vietnam and will be getting that printed to the largest size I can do.A light weight camera and fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So compact and full of features, I'm amazed.

DSC-W830 20 March 2019 by big eck984601 (United Kingdom)

Excellent compact camera, certainly does what is required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 15 March 2019 by Hubbard (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to go on holiday with. Fits easily into pocket very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

looks good

DSC-W830 10 March 2019 by metoo68 (United Kingdom)

too early to say as haven't set up yet.... ok looks-wise

Design

Good

0

0

0

amazing quality from this tiny camera!

DSC-W830 06 February 2019 by Moorsey (United Kingdom)

i Purchased this for work and its size makes it a pleasure to use. i also used it on a ski trip and it produced some great footage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic little camera!

DSC-W830 01 February 2019 by Kenidjack_Rambler (United Kingdom)

I already own a few cameras, mostly DSLR's which can be heavy and bulky to carry around, my mobile phone camera just doesn't cut it for what I need. I did a lot of research for a small compact camera, there are many out there. I looked at the Sony products as they are a reliable brand and great value for money. I set myself a budget and found this little gem! I suffer from arthritic hands and was worried that the size might be problematic, but being the best (in my opinion) I could find for the money I decided to give it a go. I wasn't disappointed. The camera is well made and presented. The functions are very easy to navigate through and work even with my poor hands! I am very pleased with the camera, and the pictures/video are fantastic quality. It would be unkind to compare the camera with larger cameras like my DSLR's but for a camera this size it certainly is very impressive. As with all things there are plus and minuses and here are mine. On the plus side - love the size and feel of the camera, fits perfectly in the pocket. Nice big screen to view the photo's and videos. Great settings for saving power, even the viewing screen has two for this. The flash is excellent. Colours are vibrant and vivid, a setting for every occasion! The Carl Zeiss lens is wonderful, giving crisp sharp pictures right through from Macro to full zoom. Auto focus is precise and quick. Access to the battery and memory card is good. Can be charged using the USB cable which is handy when out and about as I use the USB cigarette lighter adaptor. Setup was easy, the menu is really that simple to use! Now for the minuses.. I couldn't find what was the best memory card to use or size? One card I tried a high end 10 SDHC kept coming back Unable to store picture? The 16GB 6 SDHC seems to work well. Shame it didn't come with a protective case or cover. The auto focus and capture button was a little difficult to find I had to keep looking for it. Overall, I would recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for a small compact camera which is full of funky and cool features and gives great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best casual camra

DSC-W830 11 January 2019 by florencecat24 (United Kingdom)

I got this camra for christmas and im so impressed that it works so well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

It does everything

DSC-W830 08 January 2019 by Paul01 (United Kingdom)

I received this camera as a present for Christmas and I extremely pleased with everything it does and how it works it is very simple to use and is so small to fit into your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice Camera

DSCW830 11 December 2018 by lorenkjr1 (USA)

Nice camera, and easy to use. Lots of features and requires a little learning to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0