1731

4.4 based on 1,731 customer reviews

1224
267
108
58
74
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best

WH-1000XM4 11 February 2021 by GabiStancu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the headphones are gorgeous, they sound good, the application is good, but once a slight delay

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not as good as the reviews/hype

WH-1000XM4 05 March 2021 by mrsexytime (United Kingdom)

I think this is a lazy product from Sony. The noise canceling is not any better than cheap ones I used before. Sure the audio is good but so are less expensive headphones. I bought these for the dual device support, it works but is so annoying. I get a delay for the second device and 1999 sounding prompt saying device 1, 2 connected 10-15 sec later. My bluetooth motorcycle communicator has had a dual device function for 10+ years and works much better. I guess I have a small head too because the fit on these is kind of loose, when looking down or pick something up they almost fall off. I just think for the price I expected so much more refinement. I use them all day every day but overall disappointed by the lack of customization in the app and overall quality of day-to-day experience. Please do better Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

1,731 Customer Reviews

0

terrible

WH-1000XM4 25 September 2022 by yi96 (United Kingdom)

faulty headphones, unable to get it fixed. avoid at all costs.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM4 25 September 2022 by Yasmin22022000 (United Kingdom)

The headphones give amazing sound quality! The noise canceling is great as well. I am super happy with my purchase. I have one con and that’s the problem that after wearing it for a longer period of time, the top of my head begins to hurt from holding the weight of the headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony m4 headphones

WH-1000XM4 24 September 2022 by Kenod147 (United Kingdom)

The best you can buy faultless.brilliant nose canceling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent noise cancellation

WH-1000XM4 24 September 2022 by Choupette 2022 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to use in airplane. It does exactly what it say. I can now travel quietly and sleep …!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Issues after 3 months of usage

WH1000XM4/S 23 September 2022 by Prince esco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 months ago and I’m starting to have issues. The control panel will let me raise and lower volume but won’t let me play or pause videos/music. On top of that the equalizer doesn’t work anymore too, I’ve tried changing it in many ways but it all sounds the same. I rested it, cleaned the sensor softly, tried changing all the setting in the headphone app but to no avail.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Brilliant Wireless Headphones

WH-1000XM4 23 September 2022 by Alfy52 (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, fantastically easy to use and wonderful quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great design and quality.

WH-1000XM4 22 September 2022 by Silly Billy Willy (United Kingdom)

Does what you would expect from a first class pair of headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent

WH-1000XM4 22 September 2022 by Petetee (United Kingdom)

Stunning sound and so comfortable, I'm pretty big 6ft and 109 and I shave my head and it does not matter if I wear a baseball cap or a wolly hat or no hat they fit perfectly and this is the first time I've found a set of can's to do that,i had the sony M3 buds before but they are great but the battery life is not as good as these, I can find faults in most things but I've not managed yet with these cans

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very bad customer service

WH-1000XM4 19 September 2022 by Emmanuel12345 (United Kingdom)

Very bad customer service. Coupon 360 reality audio doesn't work. Sound quality just sufficient, below my expectations.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Can't connect to app

WH1000XM4/B 19 September 2022 by Peppe1478969325 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't connect to the app on any device so i can't update or use multiconnect for other devices. Noise cancelling is decent

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Headphones cause pain in ears

WH-1000XM4 12 September 2022 by Nickname234 (United Kingdom)

Purchased these headphones and started to get ear pain when using them. When trying to return the product, I'm prompted to use the Sony website, create an account and then return it by requesting a return through the account - the problem here is, there is no way of requesting a return adding to the frustration! Not easy to use at all and requires a lot of admin time.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM4 09 September 2022 by Timdi (United Kingdom)

Just purchased really pleased with sound quality’s

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Convenient

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2022 by Russ Newton (United Kingdom)

I do have some high end headphones, but they are not convenient on the move, these are, they sound great via Bluetooth or you can use the cable, which I do occasionally with a DAC, and you have up to 30hours of Bluetooth. It was a no brainier for me at the price I paid.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best head phones I’ve ever used

WH-1000XM4 04 September 2022 by Janny22 (United Kingdom)

The title says it all! Comfy/quality is immense and sound cancelling is bang on 10/10

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

WH-1000XM4 01 September 2022 by markw1972 (United Kingdom)

The headphones have good sound and plenty of features. They have a good battery life. This is my first experience of headphones with the noise cancelling feature and I think it's a gimmick. if you think the noise cancelling will block out noise then sadly it does not. It reduces the volume of outside sounds but seems only capable of fully blocking minimal sound. I write this sat in a busy coffee shop and i can still hear all of the noises. My cheap in earphones that came with my phone do a far better job at blocking out noise. These sometimes don't even fully block sound from a TV at home. They are better at blocking low or distance sounds, people chatting a few tables away they won't block fully. The microphones that let sound in when ambient mode is on still seem to allow some in with that mode turned off. Another problem is unless you are cool your ears will sweat wearing these headphones. So if you want headphones for playing video games solo, watching TV or listening to music at home then get them. If you want good noise cancelling while out and about then I suggest getting a good pair of in earphones instead. In earphones act like an ear plug and block more sound. Overall these headphones are good but it depends what you are looking for.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Excellent Head Phones

WH-1000XM4 31 August 2022 by Carl62 (United Kingdom)

Very comfortable, noise reduction excellent, a great buy

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still one of the best even after 2 years!

WH-1000XM4 29 August 2022 by JayanthMahadevan (United Kingdom)

2 weeks on and now I understand why it is still one of the best recommended ANC headphones you can buy, even after 2 years since its release. It has exceeded my expectations of a great headphone for this price.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding!!!!

WH-1000XM4 29 August 2022 by Beauty masterpiece (United Kingdom)

Wow what can I say about these headphones. They are amazing. The bass treble and mids (when adjusted through app) all sound super realistic. The 360 feature is on another level. I use these daily with my Sony Xperia plus my Sony tv. The movies are well I'm just blown away I forget my Sony htz soundbar when 8 have these on. A great buy and well worth the money. I'm so pleased with them. Thank you Sony for always giving us the best.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

WH-1000XM4 29 August 2022 by Soham Acharya (United Kingdom)

Happy with everything. The quality of sound and noise cancelling is great

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the modes!

WH1000XM4/B 27 August 2022 by becky123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and it’s so worth it! The quality is amazing and the different modes are really great for different situations. Love the noise cancelling and awareness mode! Definitely a 10/10, would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just BRILLIANT

WH-1000XM4 27 August 2022 by SteveJ72 (United Kingdom)

Had these amazing headphones for a month now. Been listening to the proms on radio3. Wonderful sound. Absolutely delighted with them. They are amazingly comfortable to wear and hold their charge for hours. Best money spent this year!!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Sound!

WH1000XM4/BME 27 August 2022 by Feelzie31 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still new but it has been pretty awesome so far. Yet to find any negative aspects. Even communicating on my mobile phone has been smooth.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM4 22 August 2022 by yg7337 (United Kingdom)

The headphones are great overall - amazing sound. Noise cancelling could be better at a windy environment.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A few minor tweaks would help

WH-1000XM4 21 August 2022 by abid_rahm (United Kingdom)

They're overall great, although there are a few bugs that I've experienced throughout the month of usage I've had with them - for example, using two devices at once, I can't seem to get playback operations to work therefore can't utilise it.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great all round, a few tweaks can make it perfect

WH-1000XM4 21 August 2022 by JimShorter (United Kingdom)

Extremely comfortable, can be adjusted to fit well (which is critically important for ANC) plus the preservation of a 3.5mm jack, inclusion of LDAC and configurability of sound by EQ and "Clear Bass" via the Sony Headphone application gives you the necessary tools to get a stunning sound. All with battery life that lives up to claims, not needing to charge it every day for evening use makes it worth while. The headset does require manually EQing, by default the low-end is a lot more present, possibly as a consequence of great ANC but also being closed back and designed to emphasise bass more so than natural. I tend to use at minimum Clear Bass -2 if not more depending on the original mastering. The ANC is absolutely bliss, once you get the right fitting to your head and around your ears. As a result of being more compact, the speaker foam will come quite close or touch your outer ear slightly unlike other circumaural designs so whilst at first it might initially feel more clostrophobic. The depth of the pads is not as thick as larger, less portable designs (e.g. intended for studio/professional audio use), so those with larger outer ears may well struggle with the additional pressure. Included case is perfect both for storage and compact enough for travel, it even has enough space in the cable tidy to store the WF-1000XM4s or the original Link Buds making it perfect for dense packing in restricted bag space.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best headset but Quality control issues

WH1000XM4/BME 21 August 2022 by Dissatisfiedcustomer69 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is good, noise cancelling is great, comfort level is good for hours, and can be folded compactly. However, I'm on my second pair because the first had a circuit board malfunction, which Sony charged me almost $400 to fix. My second pair has some issues as well, some of the plastic pieces are abit squeaky, and the noise is noticeable when turning my head at times. I really want to give this product 5 stars, but for a product that costs $400, these issues should be resolved before it leaves the factory.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

WH1000XM4/SME 21 August 2022 by nabster (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a month or less ago. I have been loving it so far! I absolutely love the colour firstly. It has really great features such as the noise cancelling! It very comfortable to wear personally and it doesn’t hurt even after wearing it for a few hours. Buying this headphone was very worth.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great...but too big

WH-1000XM4 21 August 2022 by Yellow80 (United Kingdom)

Headphones were great, liked the features, the ability to control it using the right ear piece, speak to chat where it detects you talking and stops the music, the ambiance control so you don't always have to have full noise cancellation, taking them off and music pauses then turns off after a while. Sound was good but I don't know how much better than cheaper headphones even Sony's previous model. The speak to chat is too long even on the lowest setting and they should have a shorter option for it to resume music after talking. The headphones are quite bulky so in the hot weather not ideal and the ear pads can start making you sweat as they come quite low past the ear because you can't shorten the band anymore . The headband on the shortest setting is still loose and doesn't clamp enough on the ears. It keeps moving. This is the main reason I returned them due to it being loose. I went on forums and it seems lot of other people have this issue. But the ease of use and just using hand gestures on the right ear piece to control sound was great. I called to find out of they can do anything to make the headband smaller but they said no so sadly giving them back.

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Another great pair of heaphones

WH-1000XM4 20 August 2022 by FredrikC (United Kingdom)

I've had the WH-1000XM3 for a few years and got the XM4 with the pre-order of Xperia 1IV. They have the same top quality of the predecessor and the sound and noise cancelling is brilliant. I never fly without these as they block out engine noise and conversations brilliantly. I'd recommend this product any day.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Magnificent

WH-1000XM4 19 August 2022 by Fanice (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago and I'm very happy. Listening music is now a great pleasure

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Headphones for the price

WH-1000XM4 19 August 2022 by Abby48 (United Kingdom)

I bought 2 weeks ago very happy, case is great pity the charging cable is a bit small could be a bit bigger still happy.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All round brill headphones!

WH-1000XM4 18 August 2022 by Kevin33 (United Kingdom)

Happy with my new purchase love the noise cancelling functionality!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic sound

WH-1000XM4 18 August 2022 by Sam 10W (United Kingdom)

The sound of these headphones is fantastic, they also connect to Bluetooth much more easily than my last pair. The battery life is excellent too. The only downside I would say, is that they're a bit pricey.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Clear sound and good bass

WH-1000XM4 18 August 2022 by PhilC1967 (United Kingdom)

These are great headphones. Good bass and all-round sound. Also comfortable

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Eccellent product

WH-1000XM4 17 August 2022 by 4goodnewsonly (United Kingdom)

I've got it as a present and am really happy about it. The quality of the sound is very good - either simple player music, or electric piano, very pure. The thing I like about it the most - noise cancelling, sometimes I use it even off just to have some silence but when on - be sure you will be all by yourself on the Earth ;)

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Headphone

WH-1000XM4 15 August 2022 by LW1234 (United Kingdom)

Bought this two days ago, and it arrived today, absolutely in love with this headphone, the sound quality is brilliant and really comfortable to wear

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features! Simple and Easy to use!

WH1000XM4/BME 15 August 2022 by jer09 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a while back and I love it! The earpads are super soft and very comfortable. The features are very simple and easy to use. I love that it's wireless and noise-cancelling. The audio system is fantastic!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My greatest headphones so far

WH-1000XM4 14 August 2022 by RadAfanasiuc (United Kingdom)

3 weeks every day listening to music with xm4, great headphones, strong noice canceling, very comfortable and cool looking design but rate them with 4* because of: 1. (Subjective) I would like more pronounced mid range frequencies 2. Using 'em with Pixel 6 & sometimes(once in 1-2 min) it have sound glitches(sound disappear for ~0.2 sec)

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Breath taking sound quality, volume and comfort!

WH-1000XM4 14 August 2022 by PhilNelkin (United Kingdom)

I previously purchased the wireless ear buds from Sony and then received a free pair of Samsung ear buds. But ... if you travel on the London underground or plane, you'll know that the degree of noise cancellation and volume from ear buds is poor. Why didn't I buy there before? They seamlessly connect to my Samsung S22 Ultra, my LG TV and my Dell laptop and the sound is stunning! Like all headphones, you are aware of wearing these as the pressure on the side of the head is there but ... not the discomfort of something in your ear. And - the noise cancellation is amazing and so it should be with headphones. The bases and volume is amazing! Having a hard wire phono lead alternative is great and, like most products, the USB-C charger is helpful. I would never use ear buds again ... what was I thinking!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Totally worth it

WH1000XM4/S 14 August 2022 by Ellie1999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Honestly so worth the hype, I’m the kind of person where when I love I song I want the music to be loud enough where I can’t hear my thoughts and this does that! I’m not we’ll versed when it comes to tech and headphones but these sound amazing and let me nearly get blow my ears out when listening to music so I love them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality.

WH-1000XM4 13 August 2022 by BDrian (United Kingdom)

I bought these a few weeks ago on the recommendation of the assistant in John Lewis and have been delighted with the purchase.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

WH1000XM4/LME 13 August 2022 by Andyngjy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better than I expected! Noise cancellation effect is very good and the controls are easy to use.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible

WH-1000XM4 10 August 2022 by Gar2vor (United Kingdom)

Just as described. Super effective, great quality, amazing noise-cancelling.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good headphones

WH-1000XM4 10 August 2022 by Weeliang (United Kingdom)

Very good headphones. Comfortable in use. Glad to own it.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect.

WH-1000XM4 07 August 2022 by 1949george (United Kingdom)

The best headphones I have ever used. The sound, the fit the feel, perfect.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Same as previous model in some ways but better!

WH-1000XM4 06 August 2022 by Ari Odinson (United Kingdom)

Got these headphones free when I purchased a Sony Xperia 1 IV I had the previous model (XM3's) and they where game changing these headphones at the core are the same as the last but so much better and the sound canceling is even better again! They are incredibly comfy and barely noticeable when wearing them due to them being so light the first day I got them I wore them for nearly 8 and a half hours just pottering about in my workshop etc couldn't hear any of my machinery running (I. E planner and thicknesser and my tablesaw.) whilst I had the tunes playing there was no background noise at all and I didn't have them very loud either. All in all comfy, battery seems great even though longest used was 8 hours, and sound canceling was amazing!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

would be great if noise cancelling worked

WH-1000XM4 05 August 2022 by pascar73 (United Kingdom)

All good, besides the fact, apparently impossible to solve, that noise cancelling switches off all the time for no reason, and you must manually switch it on again and again... Barely usable.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

WH-1000XM4

WH-1000XM4 05 August 2022 by Hihimushimushi (United Kingdom)

Bought these headphones to pair with my 4 year old Sony TV. Disappointed Bluetooth connection between the 2 devices was not compatible. Having to use a wired connection. Otherwise headphones work well with other compatible devices in the home

1

0

0

Great while they safe and work!

WH1000XM4/B 03 August 2022 by my_ear_hurts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a year and a half ago. I loved how they were comfortable and sounded until recently when they randomly started screeching this loud high pitch noise into my right ear! Honestly, I am very disappointed with this product quality given the high price tag. One thing is for them to break down, and another is to potentially damage someone's hearing. I will never recommend these to anyone and discourage anyone from buying them. You can find similar experiences on Reddit which means that this isn't an isolated event.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sound just gets better

WH-1000XM4 01 August 2022 by Rossisargeandbobtoo (United Kingdom)

got these headset after a little treat for myself just thinking that the sound would be just more clear. Well the sound is epic no out of this world, like when Stereo came in after Mono or the fax machine. showing my age? the easy to set up, straight to the action. makes my record collection come to life with the room. I even put a review on my YouTube channel!! get in there

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1