21

5.0 based on 21 customer reviews

20
1
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

21 Customer Reviews

0

great for wildlife

ILCE-7RM5 23 January 2023 by lyns lens (United Kingdom)

i’ve had this camera a few weeks ,i’ve upgraded from an a7iii i take a lot of wildlife and the detail is great , still lots to learn but really happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Such a joy to use

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 09 January 2023 by J Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

After 7yrs of using my A7R2 finally upgraded to 7R5 for casual street photography during vacations. One of the concerns I had with R4 was having to use Higher ISO on a 60mp sensor during low light situations. So with the new improved IBIS i can get sharp photos at lower shutter speed was one of the main deciding factors for my decision. Really enjoying all the features like the snappier AF, improve eye/face detection, a better screen & vf,etc The only negative thing I can say is the grip is getting chunkier.. hope it doesn’t increase anymore.. I still like my camera to be portable Excellent purchase no regrets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best AF with unlimited versatility

ILCE-7RM5 07 January 2023 by Shahab1844 (United Kingdom)

I switched from Lumix S5 to a7rv after learning about the Sony's new AF and AI features. The camera is an absolute beautiful piece of technology to master and easy to use. It is highly y to anyone serious about taking great pictures without getting bogged with fixing AF issues.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Alfa 7RV

ILCE-7RM5 07 January 2023 by Marco175 (United Kingdom)

Superb photo quality, Fantastic focus facility and white balance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it but……

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 03 January 2023 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m a Sony fan and avid supporter. Was one of the first to receive the camera on launch day in Singapore. I love the camera but have a few concerns 1. The flip screen is great. But because there are so many movable parts, I am not sure about how long this will last 2. Not great when ISO is above 6400. Noise make it almost unusable without Topaz 3. Over priced Quite shocked at the launch price. Totally insulted that Sony only gave a 80GB card

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

King of Resolution

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 02 January 2023 by Ash176 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to this from the A7IV after feeling the lower megapixel of the A7IV is not enough for me to crop tight. Haven't regret the decision since. The focusing is accurate and the eye detection is spot on. This camera makes difficult work looks easy. Portraiture and having sharp focussed eye has never been easier. The downside is that this camera kills my storage space quickly... But that is expected for a resolution this high.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 25 December 2022 by 3snappers (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the camera and it was awesome. Just nice I bring my camera for custom bike show in Yokohama.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A new begining

ILCE-7RM5 19 December 2022 by Tasveer (United Kingdom)

One of the finest cameras I have used for a very long time. I love everything about this camera and still discovering and trialling all the features. If you are serious about photography and have the passion to invest time and energy, this camera should be your first choice, not your last one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

A worthy upgrade

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 17 December 2022 by WayneLLC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

While I missed the preorder, I basically bought this in a heartbeat like 2-3 days after it was officially released in the stores, upgrading from my capable A7R III (R3). My purchasing journey and some PWPs were made much enjoyable from the good people such as John, Xiaoxi and Bryan at the Sony Store @ Wisma Atria, who have been very hospitable and engaging, with great attention to details. Factually, a7r V (R5) is in every aspect an upgrade to my R3; especially for my style of shooting when the ability to crop better (given the additional megapixels) allows me that greater flexibility. While yes, A7R IV shared the same number of megapixel, the QOL updates to R5 are fantastic and what sold me on buying this over its predecessor. I am really happy with the body design and materials. While it is heavier to R3, I felt that it met a good balance of weight placement, which allows less lopsidedness (especially for heavier lens) and better stability. It's hard to describe but you really got to hold R5 and a R3 to understand how a tank of a camera body it has evolved to. The multi-angle LCD screen is really chef's kiss, which open up the ease for different photography genre. Although, as an imaging giant such as Sony, I really wished the newer model can sport a much higher LCD resolution, cuz it is often this screen that we get to show our audience and the 2.1m dot really undersold the actual capability of the camera. R5's ability to accept CFexpress Type A card was something I was very thrilled about as it allows me to also use this for casual sporting event which has been quite limiting for my R3 due to the buffer clearing. The improved AI focus and also much improved IBIS is something I will have to try more in real life situation to comment but everything is looking fantastic for R5 as an all rounder. I am sure exciting times await the Sony shooters when these technology trickles down to other models. And I certainly hope Sony can continue to improve and give us more of those QOL goodness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best camera ever with only 1 little down

ILCE-7RM5 16 December 2022 by Donteo (United Kingdom)

Sony A7r V is definitely the best camera out at the moment. The new AI system is almost impeccable, great precision very sticky to the subject and the eye recognition is magnificent. My only disappointment is that when you autofocus the quality of the screen and the viewfinder drop, showing some moire and lights bands. I thought it was a issue caused by the anti flicker but it’s not… if can be fixed with a firmware update that would be very appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

The bar just got set even higher

ILCE-7RM5 16 December 2022 by SirNigel (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera two weeks ago. It is ti replace my A7Riii for wedding & portrait work (both studio and environmental). I will also use it for personal pleasure for landscapes. All in all a wonderful camera. I was exceptionally pleased with my old camera but the dynamic range is even better and the AI focusing for weddings is a blessing. Almost impossible to fail. There was rumour about higher resolution, but why? This is enough and on wedding shoots I may be at 50% anyway! Teamed with G master lenses this, to my mind, is the perfect camera for my use. I LOVE IT! Shame about Adobe playing catch up for the new RAW files but worth the wait. Well designed and built. A pleasure to use. Sony broke the glass ceiling with mirrorless DSLR and keep on improving.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

A Further Advance for the Sony 'R' series.

ILCE-7RM5 15 December 2022 by PEEJAYAYCH (United Kingdom)

I traded the Sony A7r4 for the r5. I am please with the purchase because the additional features and improvements are very useful to me. I like the AI focus and look forward to getting plenty of use from the focus stacking feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

A great all-rounder

ILCE-7RM5 15 December 2022 by Bruce74 (United Kingdom)

As a still image wildlife and landscape photographer, I place a high value on this camera's focusing options, tracking capability and full-frame high resolution sensor. The model offers many improvements over its predecessor, not least the new screen and less cluttered menus. But the controls remain familiar and it's easy making the transition from the Alpha 7Riv or 9ii to the 7Rv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

This beast will be my go-to camera

ILCE-7RM5/BQAP2 13 December 2022  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it early in pre-order time. After testing for a week, I can only say this Sony A7RV is a must for photographer especially for landscape, wedding, studio, vlog, I can say it all. The 61MP quality is superb, amazing, very sharp, clear and totally different compare with my Sony A7C. With using the latest processor and new AI processing unit features is unbelievably fast and accurate. For the 8K video quality is just beautiful. I use my Sony A7SIII for video most of the time, but this Sony A7RV is good for me if I just want to switch between video using 4K 4:2:2, 8K 4:2:0 and for still photos when travelling or run-and-gun style creativity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant piece of kit

ILCE-7RM5 09 December 2022 by Kevastley12 (United Kingdom)

A superb all round camera. Love it. Technically a masterpiece

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Love the camera BUT beware....

ILCE-7RM5 08 December 2022 by FootieGirl (United Kingdom)

This camera is definitely worth the upgrade from the A7Riv (which I still own as a second body) especially if you do fast action (often low light) sports photography - the focussing and subject recognition are ace; probably just as good for nature photographers too. Not sure other genres would realise the upgrade value given the high price. However, it came a complete shock to me to find (after a shoot) that this camera is not yet supported by leading professional software (Lightroom/ACR)! Maybe I should have thought about that but I didn't and it would have helped to have known that before I upgraded. I would suggest that if processing raw images is an essential workflow path then wait, it'll come but who wants to faff around with Sony software conversions in the meantime? So, in summary, amazing camera hence the 5 stars but wouldn't it be nice if manufacturers actually cooperated?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A great upgrade

ILCE-7RM5 07 December 2022 by A N other (United Kingdom)

This is my fourth R camera and suits my interests perfectly. Each iteration has been an improvement, and in this case for me the highlights are the new tracking, focus bracket, the better menu and the excellent screen. The body is also more robust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Promisingly The Best Full Frame Camers For Me

ILCE-7RM5 05 December 2022 by PsychoPsyclist (United Kingdom)

I've only had it for two weeks. It is a flexibly configurable full frame highest resolution camera. It's AI Focusing, All-Axis LCD Screen, Super Viewfinder, New Touch Menu/Screen, Powerful Processor, and 8 Stop Image Stabilisation culminate in a camera that will suit a wide spectrum of photographers. Well done to the listening Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

STELLAR with one or two exceptions

ILCE-7RM5 03 December 2022  (United Kingdom)

Exceptional image quality when used correctly and with the best lenses and appropriate software. Sharp, clean and impressive looking images – best I've ever seen by a long way. Also, excellent screen and viewfinder. However, the menus are still appallingly bad and completely non-intuitive. For the life of me, I can't find any way of assigning Slot 1 to RAW and Slot 2 to record jpeg's! Plus, the online guide has dark text on a glaringly white background which is bad for the eyes. Please offer a 'dark theme', ie light text on dark background, as in DP Review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

0

Amazing Value

ILCE-7RM5 21 November 2022 by 2meterstall (United Kingdom)

My first digital camera after 50 years of using film. My Leica camera equates to flying a biplane with a joystick; my new camera is like the flight deck of a Jumbo Jet, though magnificent in its simplicity to use. So much to learn and yet excited by its quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

A Photography beast

ILCE-7RM5 20 November 2022 by GazzyP (United Kingdom)

Purchased mainly for photography, I have been nothing but blown away by the quality...from the build of the camera to the quality of the images I have got out of this, I'm really pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0