60

4.7 based on 60 customer reviews

50
4
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Extra oomph in all the right places.

SA-SW5 10 February 2022 by Lord-Viridis (United Kingdom)

One of the hardest things to do in life, is describe sound, so much so that words such as "wide, stage, depth, resolution" all get used, but quite often are used to describe something completely different. What's even harder, is to describe subwoofers. So without any use whatsoever of wide, stage, depth or resolution (well maybe depth) let's try and let you know how good this sub really is... (And it's really good!) So, with most subwoofers I have always used the old "if it's heavy, it's probably good" and it seems to have done me well so far (with one exception in the 90s when I bought a sub from a market and it sounded horrific) and this sub is no exception, it tops the scales just over 13kg, of which I'd hazard a guess at a 11kg speaker and the other into construction materials, it's a really solid build, and the finish quality is really good. Connection to the HT-A7000 is as simple as plugging it into the mains and powering on, that's it. The A7000 will detect it and connect to it fully automatically, it's really, really simple. Ok, that's all well and good, easy connection, good build quality.... But how does it sound.... Now, subwoofers tend to come in 3 distinct categories. 1 ones that sound punchy 2 ones that hit great sounding low frequencies 3 ones that sound like a giant blowing raspberries Number 3 is not good, probably best left to people's bad car installs whereas numbers 1 & 2 are good, sometimes you get subs that are both 1&2, these can have the potential to be excellent, the SA-SW5 is one of these. For setting up and checking subwoofers I generally use two listening methods. Firstly I play the Jurassic park T-Rex escape scene. In this scene you can check bass levels on many particular events, the foot steps of the approaching T-Rex, the thunder, and the roar. On the footsteps, bad subs will show a distinct warble effect after each pound as the sound tapers off, this subwoofer did not, it provided a great initial thud, followed by a perfect fall off as the sound tapers, great sounding. The thunder in bad subs will sound good, but you will get "empty" spots where the frequency is just beyond the response frequency of the sub, again this does not happen with this subwoofer, the sharp bang of the thunder coming from the A7000 is perfectly followed by a deep boom from the sub while the distant rolling bass and echoes are perfectly rendered from the subwoofer. Lastly, the T-Rex roar. Just because on a fully kitted out 5.1 or 7.1 system it sounds awesome, and yes, it really does on the SA-SW5. The second way I test subwoofers, is by playing a hi-res version of the popular dance song "Smack my (female dog) up" by the Prodigy. This song has so many elements that rely on good subwoofer set ups it's really unreal, the initial kick at 42 seconds is followed by so many elements that are deep and bassy that it's a really great way to check the capabilities of a good subwoofer. Each element, each kick, pad and synth sounds perfect to my ears. Each kick has punch, each synth has great depth, it's an overall exceptional experience. Which is how I'd sum up the SA-SW5 as a whole, it provides an exceptional experience, which in itself adds to the brilliant audio from the host A7000. For some the A7000 holds quite enough punch as it is, but for that extra bit of excellence, I would thoroughly recommend this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

All good until!!!

SA-SW5 23 March 2022 by Marke1961 (United Kingdom)

All seemed great for a couple of weeks until I noticed a popping sound when the volume was low in a film as if the sub was either loosing signal or not coping with the signal it was getting, awaiting answers from the shop!

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

60 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic

SA-SW5 06 April 2024 by StoneQ (United Kingdom)

Must buy SA-SW5 together with HT-A9. They are amazing.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sub

SA-SW5 25 March 2024 by Camcsj (United Kingdom)

I purchased the sub just under a month ago. The sub definitely has a premium feel, which you come to expect from Sony. Simple power and pair buttons on the rear. Establishing wireless connection to Sony sounbar is effortless. Performed calibration and all done. Me personally found the calibrated sound volume setting at 6, was way too low. Tried different volume settings. Volume 10 was good, but since I love bass, MAX was the best for me. Very good presence of sound with very good deep sound; deep sound that you can feel! Like any speaker, it's gets better over time and I am noticing improvements all the time. Fully recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

When it works

SASW5 05 March 2024 by ThatGuyidk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this back in the end of July beginning of August. So far when it works I love it. I would say that it works around 90-95% of the time without incidents. I do not have the volume at max I usually keep it around 30%-50% of its max. It has Bluetooth connection issues specially if it is windy outside. I have noticed that when it is windy I tend to lose Bluetooth connection at random times while using this device. No the device is not outside and no the windows are not open. There is no draft in the home. Other than that, This this is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wIRELESS SUBWOOFER

SA-SW5 04 March 2024 by rockin roy (United Kingdom)

Great sounding subwoofer that compliments the AT-7000 soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Home Theater System Sub

SASW5 05 February 2024 by gto5830 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This unit is a great companion to the HT-A9 system. System really needs the bigger of the 2sub's that are offered.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent piece of kit !

SA-SW5 13 January 2024 by Jeff George (United Kingdom)

Bought for our home cinema system and were blown away!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

We will see

SASW5 09 January 2024 by Jrnfl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unfortunately, I have not been able to try out the subwoofer. HT 89 Home theater system my purchased had performance issues so I had to box up everything and send it back to Sony . It’s been at least a week 10 days since I added it and it looks like it’ll be at least two or three more weeks before I have the system set up and can listen to it so I can say what I think about it. I bought a brand new Bravia 75 inch the mid part of 2023 it had many problems and had to be taken apart and parts replaced so I’m not having a good track record with Sony

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

360 Spatial Sound Mapping

SASW5 28 December 2023 by stev5067 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

if you have the 360 Spatial Sound Mapping this sub is a must

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Bass

SA-SW5 26 November 2023 by Shid (United Kingdom)

I have the A95L and the Ht-A9 which are a class of their own as far as sound quality goes but this Sub just changes the experience to a different level. Amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

compact, connected capable!

SA-SW5 24 November 2023 by L prasad (United Kingdom)

Just bought as part of HT-A9, given the package sounds good. I wish Sony has given the wired connection possibility as well, that said works amazingly with wireless. Hope connection stays. Wish the possibility of adding another subwoofer, if it is a firmware update please do give that ooption sooner than later.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect addition to HT-A9 speakers

SA-SW5 20 September 2023 by Margay (United Kingdom)

I pre-ordered the HT-A9 speakers before the first ones were in the country 2 years ago as no new Sony AV amp was available. At the time I didn't include the SW5 as there were no reviews available and I thought the A9s on there own would be enough. After prevaricating for a long time and reading reviews I finally took the plunge. It was absolutely the right thing to do. Reviews I had read said what a difference it made to the cinematic experience. It really does make an immersive experience for Atmos and HDR programs. I was sceptical about it improving audible speech but it does make a big improvement to the audibility in action sequences. I am sure there is a technical explanation but it is of no consequence to me as I just enjoy re-watching Blu-rays and feeling smug about what I was missing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Strange Popping Sound from the Subwoofer

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 04 September 2023 by KennyNg (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the subwoofer and have been using it for a month now. It is a good product however there is this strange popping sound on an ad-hoc basis coming out from the the subwoofer.I hope that there might be a new firmware introduced to fix this.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Amazing Subwoofer

SA-SW5 31 August 2023 by Tigress (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony SA-SW5 Thursday 31-8-23 & it is SUPER DUPER FANTASTIC. Sony have really excelled themselves with this premium product which is teamed up with the HT-A9. The subwoofer was the missing link in terms of sound & the quality of it. I thought I was in a cinema not my lounge. As ever Sony have truly delivered KUDOS to them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Sound with brilliant base

SA-SW5 31 August 2023 by JohnM7 (United Kingdom)

I bought a new Sony TV and A3000 soundbar. I wanted more base, particularly for films. The SW5 does not disappoint. However, I would recommend a higher spec soundbar such as the A5000 or A7000. Easy uo tune in with the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SA-SW5 Wireless Speakers

SASW5 30 July 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had these speakers for about 4 weeks—outstanding!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's the Perfect Pairing

SASW5 23 July 2023 by Home Theatre Enthusiast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're buying speakers the subwoofer is a must. I didn't cut corners and went for the bundle, but there's nothing like powerful lows to complete the package. The integration with other Sony products including my Sony Bravia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super sub

SA-SW5 04 July 2023 by OCDMDH (United Kingdom)

A monster of a sub woofer. Shakes the whole room when turned up. Very impressive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sa-sw5 subwoofer

SA-SW5 02 July 2023 by And001 (United Kingdom)

Excellent easy setup and brings a complete dimension to the soundbar highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect addition

SA-SW5 17 June 2023 by Julianklein12345 (United Kingdom)

This is the perfect addition to complement the HT-A7000. The sound is balanced from highs to lows with deep bass - awesome!

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sounding subwoofer with great punch

SA-SW5 30 May 2023 by GreenMekon (United Kingdom)

I bought this subwoofer around a month ago and I am seriously impressed with the sound. The subwoofer is very loud so you may have to turn it down, but it provides a serious punch with smooth bass. I paired it with my HT-A5000 and it was very easy to setup, my soundbar recognised the subwoofer straight away. Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Need addition or bigger subwoofer

SASW5 27 May 2023 by MaureenK101 (USA)

I will be honest I truly have no idea how this surround sound is supposed to sound to me. This is my first surround sound system I have ever owned and so I have nothing to compare it to. I do have to say I dont know how I feel about the center channel out cable that makes the voices come out of the tv speakers so it sounds more directly in front of me. I kind of feel like that ruins the experience just a tad bit because I am connecting a low grade speaker to a top grade system and almost drowns out the quality of sound coming from the two front surround sound speakers mounted on the wall. But I will play around with it and see what I like better. As far as the subwoofer goes it is great truly is immersive vibration but if there was a way to connect a 1000W RMS or higher subwoofer (something comparable like a nightshade v5 2500W sundown audio subwoofer for a car) to this system I would highly recommend adding a new subwoofer to the Sony line up that is twice as powerful as this one or give me the ability to add a second subwoofer to the system. I can say I have never sat in my living room and watched an action movie and heard bullets zing past my head before. But with this surround sound that is exactly how it sounds and I can say with all honesty it is really an amazing and cool experience to have as my first one. Hope this helps with future bug fixes and tech updates. Please let me know if you add a new more powerful subwoofer or make it so I can add a second one to the system. Thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful & really shake the living room

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 22 May 2023 by Daviddk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfying customer Super thunderous, earthquakes like effect. Shiok! Enjoyable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

quality product

SA-SW5 19 May 2023 by M1954 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to enhance the sound of my sony HT-3000 soundbar very easy to set-up, plug in and it connects with the soundbar I bought this mostly to give me a better sound when playing blu-ray movies or for listening to music- certainly packs a powerful punch

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely speaker, deep film, feeling bass

SA-SW5 11 May 2023  (United Kingdom)

I brought this product a couple of months ago I enjoy it every time I use it. I previously had a cheaper soup before I went to this one and I prefer a new sub

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SA-SW5 Wireless Subwoofer

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 25 April 2023 by Nick N (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very well built and nice design without any rough or sharp edges. Heart pounding sound. Thankfully level can be easily adjusted via the A-7000 remote. Plenty of headroom.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great subwoofer

SA-SW5 24 April 2023 by hspunn (United Kingdom)

brought this with my Sony HT-A9 speakers. the bass certainly packs a punch and a good addition to speaker systems.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good subwoofer

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 06 April 2023  (Singapore)

Bought it together with soundbar A5000. It is a good addition to my soundbar in boosting the bass. As it is connected to soundbar wirelessly, it tended to get disconnected quite frequent when i placed it behind my couch. The connection is getting more stable once i move it near to the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Sub

SASW5 14 February 2023 by mus woldez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a more natural bass sound. Buy 2

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

You get what you pay for!

SA-SW5 15 January 2023 by Big boy iain (United Kingdom)

Brought this after I got the HT-A9 , it's the cherry on the cake!! Well worth that bit extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

SA SW5 sub

SA-SW5 14 January 2023 by sonybug (United Kingdom)

Expensive bit of kit,but has a nice clean bass that doesn’t distort as volume increases,definitely recommend as a addition to the A7000,love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Never Heard Anything Like It

SA-SW5 08 January 2023 by ToMatter (United Kingdom)

I bought this from Sony before Christmas, they got it to me quickly and registered it for me, I got it to supplement my Sony HT-A9 cinema sound system. The reviews were universally excellent and said it married well with the HT-A9, I hadn't connected it to power at first then when I did I found myself in slight shock, realising that something I routinely run through my system is actually meant to sound completely differently to the way it has before, this is true of my HT-A9, all my content is being acoustically rediscovered slowly, I can honestly say I've never had that before. If you want get the best quality, the reference home cinema sound for the next decade, look no further than Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sub

SA-SW5 13 December 2022 by IanT599 (United Kingdom)

I’m my opinion this sub is a must. Gives off plenty of bass and gives films and music the depth that they need. I bought this to accompany the HT-A9 system. I was advised by multiple sources online not to even bother with the smaller sub and I’m glad I followed their advice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bassey subwoofer

SA-SW5 25 November 2022 by Ade A (United Kingdom)

I had my eye on this subwoofer and the home theatre bundle for a while. It hits low bass and has a wide as well as immersive reach. A great product which fits into my living room conspicuously. I love this subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good thumping bass

SA-SW5 21 November 2022 by Amanda Jayne (United Kingdom)

Purchased this along with ht7000 soundbar work perfectly in harmony with each other.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding!

SA-SW5 12 November 2022 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

Well, what can I say - outstanding job Sony! This subwoofer is an absolute must for your latest Sony Soundbars! Sony has been very kind providing HT-A5000 soundbar for me to test, it's a great product on it's own! But having additional accessories as Sony SA-SW5 subwoofer and Sony SA-RS5 rear Atmos speakers are a game changer! The quality of bass is superior, there is no distortion, clear, steady, punchy low bass. Seamless connectivity and stable connection to the soundbar. Built quality is exceptional. I highly recommend this product as additional accessory for Sony HT-A7000 and HT-A5000 soundbars. My personal opinion: I wouldn't waste extra £300 GBP on top of the range HT-A7000 soundbar, but instead would buy Sony HT-A5000 and add soundbar and Atmos rear speakers! Sony should include this subwoofer to all new soundbars, as it's incredible product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sounds great but bad quality

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 19 October 2022 by jffry7 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Less than 2 weeks notices popping sound. Pretty bad when watching movies at higher volume or even listening to music. Now with sony service center for possibly 2weeks. I have to wait more than the time I have used it. Shame when it sounds great. HT-A9 misses it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Subwoofer

SA-SW5 14 October 2022 by Oyodi (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Subwoofer that really adds depth to the sound field when used with the HT-7000 soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony SW5 Subwoofer broke down in 2 weeks

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 27 August 2022 by Hummer Guy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the SW5 with the HT-A9 on 31st July 2022. It was performing well and sounded great. Bass was pretty good for such a small sub. However, on 19th Aug, abt 2+ weeks after, sub suddenly had crackling sound when bass kicks in. Seems like something is rattling inside. Sent to Sony on 24th Aug. Was told abt 2 weeks for repairs. Ive been using Subwoofers for years. Never had a sub broke down within a month. Very poor built quality.

Performance

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good bass

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 18 July 2022 by nccng2001 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The subwoofer has the low rumbling bass that is big enough to tremble through a relatively big spacious room of a 5 room HDB. You got to hear it to feel the explosive boom and the heavy footsteps.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A subwoofer with super bass.

SASW5 18 July 2022 by wb11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this SA-SW5 300 W three months ago. It is the right sub woofer for my Sony HT-A9 home theater system. It makes my room feel big. I now truly get the theater sound that the system was intended to give out. It is truly a big bang for sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding sounds

SASW5 31 May 2022 by FAlex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made this purchase at the beginning of May 2022.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Subwoofer is on steroids it’s the G.O.A.T!!

SASW5 01 May 2022 by Dhokezhi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few days ago and I’m truly impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Deep rich bass has arrived at home perfect

SA-SW5 31 March 2022 by Madjim1 (United Kingdom)

SA-SW5 300W Additional wireless subwoofer is the perfect addition to the A7000 soundbar and the RS3S wireless rear speakers all situated in my living room now home cinema. Easy setup and cinema richness at home outstanding

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

0

0

Excellent clean clarity surround sound

SA-SW5//M1 SP1 28 March 2022 by Lentor Villas (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought one month ago, together with RS3S surround speakers & SW5 subwoofer. Having a wonderful times with clarity sounds and integrated well with Sony 65A80J TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All good until!!!

SA-SW5 23 March 2022 by Marke1961 (United Kingdom)

All seemed great for a couple of weeks until I noticed a popping sound when the volume was low in a film as if the sub was either loosing signal or not coping with the signal it was getting, awaiting answers from the shop!

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Stunning sound quality!

SA-SW5 16 February 2022 by Whoopsadaisy (United Kingdom)

Upon arrival, the quality and attention to detail was clear to see, not just in the product itself, but the packaging and instructions too. The installation, (even for myself with limited technical ability) was easy. The connection instructions are clear and logically formatted with useful connectivity tips. The power connection, approximately 1m cable and a link button for connecting to the sound bar, are placed discreetly at the rear; therefore the appearance is not affected. It's very simple, yet stunning looking design. The clarity of sound is extremely impressive. When linked with rear speakers and sound bar the subwoofer comes into it's own; the sound becomes all enveloping! Overall, I am delighted with the all aspects of the product. It has brilliant sound quality with impressive easy to use features. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

0

Excellent addition to A7000 Soundbar

SA-SW5 12 February 2022 by Chas1953 (United Kingdom)

The Wireless Subwoofer SW5 from Sony is the optional extra speaker is to go with their new flagship Soundbar the A7000. It’s very simple to connect, you turn it on and it’s automatically found by the A7000 Soundbar. It’s a great addition to an already excellent sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

1

0

Great feature!

SA-SW5 11 February 2022 by Mehrdad62 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with HT-A9, a perfect match, and it works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Extra oomph in all the right places.

SA-SW5 10 February 2022 by Lord-Viridis (United Kingdom)

One of the hardest things to do in life, is describe sound, so much so that words such as "wide, stage, depth, resolution" all get used, but quite often are used to describe something completely different. What's even harder, is to describe subwoofers. So without any use whatsoever of wide, stage, depth or resolution (well maybe depth) let's try and let you know how good this sub really is... (And it's really good!) So, with most subwoofers I have always used the old "if it's heavy, it's probably good" and it seems to have done me well so far (with one exception in the 90s when I bought a sub from a market and it sounded horrific) and this sub is no exception, it tops the scales just over 13kg, of which I'd hazard a guess at a 11kg speaker and the other into construction materials, it's a really solid build, and the finish quality is really good. Connection to the HT-A7000 is as simple as plugging it into the mains and powering on, that's it. The A7000 will detect it and connect to it fully automatically, it's really, really simple. Ok, that's all well and good, easy connection, good build quality.... But how does it sound.... Now, subwoofers tend to come in 3 distinct categories. 1 ones that sound punchy 2 ones that hit great sounding low frequencies 3 ones that sound like a giant blowing raspberries Number 3 is not good, probably best left to people's bad car installs whereas numbers 1 & 2 are good, sometimes you get subs that are both 1&2, these can have the potential to be excellent, the SA-SW5 is one of these. For setting up and checking subwoofers I generally use two listening methods. Firstly I play the Jurassic park T-Rex escape scene. In this scene you can check bass levels on many particular events, the foot steps of the approaching T-Rex, the thunder, and the roar. On the footsteps, bad subs will show a distinct warble effect after each pound as the sound tapers off, this subwoofer did not, it provided a great initial thud, followed by a perfect fall off as the sound tapers, great sounding. The thunder in bad subs will sound good, but you will get "empty" spots where the frequency is just beyond the response frequency of the sub, again this does not happen with this subwoofer, the sharp bang of the thunder coming from the A7000 is perfectly followed by a deep boom from the sub while the distant rolling bass and echoes are perfectly rendered from the subwoofer. Lastly, the T-Rex roar. Just because on a fully kitted out 5.1 or 7.1 system it sounds awesome, and yes, it really does on the SA-SW5. The second way I test subwoofers, is by playing a hi-res version of the popular dance song "Smack my (female dog) up" by the Prodigy. This song has so many elements that rely on good subwoofer set ups it's really unreal, the initial kick at 42 seconds is followed by so many elements that are deep and bassy that it's a really great way to check the capabilities of a good subwoofer. Each element, each kick, pad and synth sounds perfect to my ears. Each kick has punch, each synth has great depth, it's an overall exceptional experience. Which is how I'd sum up the SA-SW5 as a whole, it provides an exceptional experience, which in itself adds to the brilliant audio from the host A7000. For some the A7000 holds quite enough punch as it is, but for that extra bit of excellence, I would thoroughly recommend this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

0

0

If You Like Bass This Speaker Is For You

SA-SW5 08 February 2022 by Graham35 (United Kingdom)

I use this with my Sony HT-A7000 soundbar and what a brilliant addition to my system this is. It’s a big speaker but the deep rich bass sounds are second to none, really enhancing the immersive viewing experience whatever you are watching or listening to. With it being wireless all you need is an electrical socket nearby, I plugged it in and within seconds it was connected to my system ready to use. You can adjust the bass volume separately on the remote control, I have it at its highest setting as I like to hear the rumble of the bass when watching a movie. This speaker is solidly built, and its sleek modern looks with its rounded corners, will fit well in any environment. The performance of this speaker along with the Sony HT-A7000 for me I the best sound experience I have had. I would, without hesitation, recommend this this sub-woofer speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

SW5

SA-SW5 07 February 2022 by Johnnone (United Kingdom)

Great improvements of base with the A7009 sound product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0