Note! Before performing a factory data reset, make sure you know your Google™ credentials. Depending on your security settings, you may need to enter them in order to start up the device after a factory data reset. If you do not remember your Google account name or password, you can recover them using the Google Account Recovery page at https://www.google.com/accounts/recovery/. If you still can't reactivate your device, contact us.
When you perform a factory data reset, you erase all personal data stored on the internal storage of your Xperia™ device.
The following are examples of data that gets overwritten:
- Your Google account and other accounts
- Calendar items
- Messages (sent via SMS, MMS and email)
- Applications and application data including game high scores
- Photos, videos and music
Photos, videos, music and documents stored on an SD card do not get erased during a factory data reset.
Note! Make sure that you always back up data stored on the internal storage that you want to keep before performing a factory data reset.