194

2.9 based on 194 customer reviews

30
43
41
40
40
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03 November 2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07 December 2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

196 Customer Reviews

0

These things drive me crazy!

WF-1000X 16 July 2018  (USA)

When I first got these they worked beautifully. They would pair as soon as they came out of the charger and sound was pretty good. Battery life was OK tho not the 3 hours they claimed. But after a few weeks, they started spontaneously turning themselves off and on. They pair and unpair, they start and stop spontaneously. The have become completely useless. Help!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good earphones but limited battery life

WF-1000X 16 July 2018 by Baghdad Bob (United Kingdom)

I've had these earphones for a month and use them every day. I charge them each evening overnight, they are fully charged in the morning but the battery is dead before I get home. I only use them for 1 hour in the morning and maybe 1-2 hours during the day but they never get through the whole day. also the instructions are useless. they need clear written explanation on how to charge them and how to use them; both earphones have on/off buttons, not clear at all what each function is.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent sound, battery life very poor

WF-1000X 15 July 2018 by Thross (United Kingdom)

Had these 2 weeks and the claim is that they will give 3 hours of battery life. With noise cancellation on I have a grand time of 50 minutes. With all features disabled, 1 hour 55 mins. Not sure where the 3 hours comes from! The sound quality though is excellent, just a shame the battery life is so poor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nicely priced for a noise cancelling earbuds!

WF-1000X 13 July 2018 by dborg01 (United Kingdom)

I bought these almost a week ago and they have been under constant use. I use them on a plane, while cycling from and to work, while in a taxi, at home, on trains, on bus. My main uses are simply to cut out the noise at work which is a constant nuisance, to listen to music or podcasts, and to be connected with my phone mainly to answer calls and to use Siri...which I heavily use. I wanted this kind of gadget, firstly because it gives a better use of technology such as Siri. I also needed them for my workplace as the noise is too tiring. I have reviewed and re reviewed all the major brands. The outstanding differences between Sony and the rest is very simple...the rest almost never offered noise cancellation unless you are ready to have a neckband (which I am fine with but I didn't want) and unless you are ready to pay £100 or above more than the Sony cost. Some do offer better features like better battery life, water resistance, volume control and a smaller carry case. I was already thinking of buying a set in the future as the price for me at the moment was prohibitive...until I came across the Sony ones. I honestly didn't even know Sony did them and I was happy to find about it from a shop at the airport. So I thought of checking the price and the details. They had active noise cancellation and the price was superbly feasible for me! So without further questions I got them. I had Sony earphones since the 1990s. I didn't own a lot of models as they seemed indestructible...well...I still have some of them! My review...I love the sound. One of the best I have ever heard...ever....I love Bass rich sound which doesn't compromise with the mediums and high frequencies and these are perfectly balanced. They are light and comfortable enough to wear and forget and my ear sockets are quite a bit smaller than average. But using the small ear rubber provided in the package made it possible to fit them, even if they're a little tight. The noise cancellation is a great feature and it works very very well. Obviously it won't turn a noisy place into a super quiet place but my noisy workplace became very bearable especially if I allow some low music or podcast to play. The iOS app does a good job too to vary the noise cancellation level. The battery carry case gives some good extra juice for a longish trip. Haven't tested them to the full as I use over ear headphones with noise haptic feedback on a flight...I love feeling a movie rather than just listen to it. The little button on the right ear bud works great too. It helps to quickly pause music and resume when needed. It also helps to quickly skip to the next song. Taking a call seemed very good too. I could hear the caller very well and they could hear me well too. I must say that the taxi driver did mistakenly understand the place I mentioned I'm going to over the phone but I am not sure if it has anything to do with the quality of the ear buds. I can only say that I haven't tested them for long enough in this area. Overall I love them and for the price they are worthwhile. Now...the lowsides: Battery life is extremely short...too short, around 2 hours if no noise cancellation is used but with constant listening to music. The battery carry case charges the earbuds quickly and with a quick short charge you'll get a very good listening time once again. The case itself however takes a long time to recharge....and the biggest downside is that you have no way of telling how much charge is left in the carry case, sadly. This should really be taken into account. The case itself seems a bit too long but I have found that although it looks weird it's easier to carry if you are not a big person! The earbuds themselves do have one big downside....the right side cuts off a lot more than I would like I happily accept. There are many moments when listening is flawless from both sides but at moments the right just decides to keep cutting off. It did improve with the software update and by adjusting the position in my ear. Switching off and on again sometimes helps too. Performing the software update was a pain. I had to try several times and methods until I got through to it...but at least it is doable. My biggest suggestions would be a battery level indicator on the case and that the iOS App supports 3D touch on iPhones. Using 3D Touch to quickly adjust the noise cancelling level would be the perfect addition. Having a Widget and Apple Watch support, even if it is just for the volume and active noise cancellation levels would be another very powerful addition. If you are on a budget and want noise cancelling these are the earbuds for you. But Sony please hear us...please do make an App which suits us better and try to update the earbuds software to reduce the noise cutting from the right earbud! There again...these earbuds are worthwhile. I have already spoken to two of my work colleagues who are set to get them as well very soon!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise cancelling & Wire free!

WF-1000X 13 July 2018 by PeterFK (United Kingdom)

My Audio books are clearer and no extraneous noise. The cancelling and ambient sound system is great. Stereo drops very occasionally; a bit annoying. The recharging carry box is very convenient. A great product, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wow

WF-1000X 12 July 2018 by Stevie65 (United Kingdom)

the headphones are awesome. fantastic sound and quality. found them very eady to et up. very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Game changer

WF-1000X 10 July 2018 by sturat (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased these after careful consideration and I made the right choice. After the initial setup they come into their own and I am impressed with the quality and sound performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Right ear issues

WF-1000X 10 July 2018 by PK9999 (USA)

Have had this now for 24 hours, and they are practically useless. I’ve done the update as advised (and as Sony think is the solution to all the worlds problems!) yet the right ear drops out every few seconds! Useless. What is the fix Sony??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Really wanted to love these...

WF-1000X 09 July 2018 by nunyazz (USA)

I really wanted to love these earbuds but... they keep disconnecting. I love the fit and the sound, but am very disappointed in the battery life and connection between each of the earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic overall

WF-1000X 08 July 2018 by Kopthelot1964 (United Kingdom)

I bought them 5 weeks ago fantastic, i have had 4 other wireless ear phones nothing has compared to the Sony ones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound, poor performance

WF-1000X 08 July 2018 by jmal86 (United Kingdom)

Bought these and like a lot of other people there is an ongoing issue with right earbud connection dropping out. Ongoing complaint with Sony about this and keep just referring me to resetting the headset...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 05 July 2018 by Mr Pizz (United Kingdom)

I brought these I consider Sony to be a good make. Unfortunately the earphones consistently loose connection, so one side drops out.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Worse I've had

WF-1000X 05 July 2018 by Nilab06 (USA)

I've used all kinds of wireless earphones, and these are by far the worst I have ever bought. The noise canceling constant changes distorting the music. The earphones would also just cut out, or lose connection.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

It is good but could have been better

WF-1000X 03 July 2018 by Snazzle (USA)

I bought this over other competitor products because it has noise cancellation. The sound quality is great and the headsets stay put securely when I go for runs and exercise. It also charges very quickly. The bluetooth connects very easily to my Android phone. What I don't like is the short battery life (3 hours + 5hrs when charged with the case), it beeps and interrupts music when a new message arrives. I was also told that when I answer calls using this headset, the sound quality is very poor. Also, when answering calls, the sound is on mono i.e. only the left headset has audio. When charging, the headsets doesn't always snap on securely to charge. So please make sure that it snaps correctly until the light blinks. Occasionally, the right headset does not connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No cables

WF-1000X 02 July 2018 by MX5RS (United Kingdom)

Bought on basis of sound quality, not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

An unfortunate purchase

WF-1000X 29 June 2018 by Rouxster (United Kingdom)

On paper these headphones are premium - in real life they fall terribly flat. Great sound and fairly good noise cancelling. The problem, and I saw this is a general issue in other reviews as well, the right ear piece kept dropping connection with the left ear piece. This makes for a terrible listening experience. Another issue and again a commen issue on the reviews is the audio delay when watching videos. The call centre attempted to resolve the connection problem, but the problem continued. They also tried to explain that the sound delay issue is inherent with all wireless devices...not true as I owned other brand wireless earphones and they worked with no delays. Earphones should be simple and just work - having to do a song and dance detracts from an enjoyable experience. Very disappointing. I exchanged them for the Sony WH-1000xm2...they are far far far better and a redeeming product after the WI-1000x damaged the Sony brand for me

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Terrible product

WF-1000X 27 June 2018 by Hahn1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product at the airport, and to be honest this is the worst impulse buy I’ve ever done. The sound is good, when it works! The drops on the right ear is so bad, doesn’t matter if I switch it to stable priority, doesn’t matter if I switch off ambient sound. When I walk it drops sporadically, I have not had one instance of continued stability unless I sit really still. The product is clearly flawed and should never have been released commercially. I’ve been a big Sony fan since I was a kid, sad to see it go this bad...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Battery life poor.

WF-1000X 27 June 2018 by Arefm (United Kingdom)

Bought it at beginning of 2018. Battery issue raised with retailer. They’ve advised to get in touch with Sony. Sony advised upgrade. Still vv poor battery life 1,5 hours at the best. So I have to fly short haul or go to a different brand. Not good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great Sound!

WF-1000X 25 June 2018 by Atko10 (United Kingdom)

The sound in these earphones is amazing and they are very comfortable to wear. I wouldn't recommend them for exercise though as lots of movement can make them fall out. Occasionally the right earphone can take a while to connect. Overall these are great for chilling out to your favourite tunes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Some issues, but amazing

WF-1000X 19 June 2018 by Hugo Fonseca (United Kingdom)

The stable connection is an issue but just once or twice drops (seconds) per hour. The battery life could be better, yes, but for a noise cancelation always on Bluetooth is quite good. The videos not being in sync with the sound... Thats the major one, but hey, I use these beauties on the gym, so no videos there! It's the start of a new thing and I'm sure Sonya will improve them with updates.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Unusable

WF-1000X 18 June 2018 by IvorSony (United Kingdom)

Very bad lip synch issues with video. Constant dropping out of the right channel. Just unusable and a waste of a lot of money.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Connectivity issue with bluetooth on my phone/ipad

WF-1000X 18 June 2018 by FONYs (USA)

earphones constantly disconnecting and also right earphone drop from the connection often. sound quality is ok. but the connection issue made this headphones worthless! often have to restart a few times to connect the earphones to my devices. Not worth of $xxx (which sony website prohibited us to mention on the site) at all when it;s not even working properly. Very disappointing a big brand like SONY will put out a defective product like this. With a product like this, I might as well buy a cheap wiresless headphone from an unknown brand. This will be my first and LAST time buying a SONY product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Disappointing Product

WF-1000X 07 June 2018 by SVMachado (United Kingdom)

I bought this premium product considering the features butin such as Noise Cancelling and BlueTooth Technology.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Below average

WF-1000X 06 June 2018 by Ernie73 (USA)

Average sound quality. Connectivity issue between IEMs, left and right keep disconnecting even after firmware update. disappointing.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Not as good as I thought

WF-1000X 05 June 2018 by Dawnus (United Kingdom)

Small, perfect for my little ears, good sound quality but the right ear keeps cutting out for some reason, I’ve adjusted the settings but still it happens so will be returning them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 04 June 2018 by David64 (United Kingdom)

These earphones have a great sound quality and easy to set up and use, The one little issue with them is the right one can lose connection very briefly but hopefully this’ll get sorted with and update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very comfortable

WF-1000X 01 June 2018 by Kit6961 (USA)

Why are you overworking just the left ear piece? I would like to use both earpieces for everything calls, music even notifications regarding battery level. please fix this in the next software upgrade.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great fit, stayed in place while slept, good sound

WF-1000X 29 May 2018 by armgusa (USA)

Got them about a week ago...Much better than expected. I tried all the possible products and competitors at the store in the airport and I found the Sony was better fit and better sound that eh Bose (and all others). Charging case is very handy. I put them on a long flight from Sao Paolo to Chicago. I slept for about 8 of the 10 hours and the little guys stay in place with no issue. Even the battery was depleted, the fact that they stay well in place helped to maintain the noise level very low. I do realize you can not have everything in a small package, but the battery life of about three hours is way too low. Typical domestic flight is 1 to 4 hours, plus boarding, deboarding, we should have 6 hours... Then I will be perfectly happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No chance to run with them

WF-1000X 29 May 2018 by Hazardius (USA)

No chance to run with them at least with my usual speed. Speed walking no problem but when i start to run they stay in ears maximum 1-2 min awful design. Noise-canceling 3 of 10 points. Sound quality is exponential.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

To early for market

WF-1000X 28 May 2018 by Melejohn (USA)

Not great, they definitely look cool, but don’t completley function. I left them in their charging case over the weekend and when I took them out and turned them on they told me they only had half a charge. Audio cuts in and out in the right headphone consistently, and you have to turn them each on independently but turning them off you just hit the button on the left phone. I’m not sure why when I deleted the Sony Connect app I couldn’t raise the volume on the headphones. I had to redownload it and I could control the volume again. Audio quality seems okay, I’m not to picky about my sound quality. I would say wait until Sony works out all the kinks in these before purchasing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Oh well.

WF-1000X 28 May 2018 by RJKirkman (United Kingdom)

I got the WF-1000X a few weeks ago can't say I'm impressed with them, the ambiance check every 30 seconds is so noticeable it can be off putting. Handy charge box

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, poor connectivity

WF-1000X 27 May 2018 by Rob82 (United Kingdom)

Bought 3 weeks ago, quickly realised that the connection between the two earpieces is not strong enough, in crowded areas in particular the right earpiece will not work at all, tried sending back to retailer and raised with Sony but both said its a limitation of Bluetooth so would not allow me to return them, relegated to sitting in a drawer as no good for commuting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great Sound, But Critical Problems

WF-1000X 26 May 2018 by RedRocket (USA)

I have had these headphones for about 6 months. They sound great and are very comfortable to wear, but have some very serious flaws. The major problem occurred when I upgraded to firmware version 2.0.0 from 1.05. Firmware version 1.05 was very stable where I did not have dropouts while playing music, but after upgrading to version 2.0.0, the right side headphone keeps dropping out (several time for each song). This did not occur with firmware 1.05, and there is no way to revert back to the old firmware. I did find if I disabled the noise canceling/Ambient sound mode, the drop out in the right headphone stopped, but then what is the use of paying the premium price for noise cancellation if it does not work without dropping sound to the right headphone. I do not know if this is a power management issue or interference with the Bluetooth from the noise cancellation processing, but since it worked with firmware 1.05 I believe it can be fixed with firmware. The only problem is that Sony has known about this issue since 1.07 and has not fixed it. So I can only assume they have no intention of correcting the problem or they would have with this firmware release. I only wished they would allow it to be downgraded back to 1.05 or allow for an option that trades poorer battery life, but will maintain right & left connection + allow the noise cancellation to function.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great Product

WF-1000X 24 May 2018 by Ken K (United Kingdom)

I am happy with this product the only thing i can find fault with them is i only get 2 hrs play time before thay shut down for a recharge not the 3 hrs sony list on the spec sheet and some drop out

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Avoid at all costs, majorly flawed!!

WF-1000X 24 May 2018 by ButchyB (USA)

These headphones are not fit for purpose. They constantly drop out, regardless of which mode you use. In actual fact, their performance is actually worst on the mode for Priority for Stability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Work to be done the issues are not resolved

WF-1000X 23 May 2018 by jenglish (USA)

As with many other reviews, I read the negative but thought I'd give them a go as it appeared that Sony had found and addressed the problems...they haven't. These headphones are reviewed in places as having outstanding quality [for wireless earbuds] and this is true, but unfortunately the performance even when walking in the most friendly of surroundings [and with all updates applied] is unreliable to say the least. The issue with the right side bud dropping is still there and I have experienced total loss at times, even with 'Connection Stability over Quality' enabled...when in challenging environments such as standing on the concourse at a crowded station the performance degrades further again. I have to question whether Sony should be selling these as it appears that there are still fundamental issues with these headphones in the environments that their own marketing videos show them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great quality

WF-1000X 21 May 2018 by Fitzy006 (United Kingdom)

Love the sound quality ,good style, fits well in your ears

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible. do not buy!!!

WF-1000X 18 May 2018 by MattT888898 (USA)

Bought these headphones about 2 months ago and just now getting to actually use them but would absolutely return if my window hadnt already passed. Constant issues including dying, connectivity, poor volume. DO NOT BUY! Not worth the hassle or price. Will be buying different earphones soon just wish I could get my money back

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

The most disappointing electronics purchase made

WF-1000X 18 May 2018 by Teknick (USA)

After several months of use, these headphones have taken the prize of being the single most disappointing electronics purchase made. With online reviews so prevalent, I only have myself to blame for what was a spontaneous purchase based on the 5 star WhatHiFi review (who have lost all credibility). + The sound is good, but only as good as Sony's standard entry level wired headphones. + The bluetooth connection is generally ok (the best I've tested), but sound will cut out in the slave unit if I look too far to the left (phone is in my left pocket). + Syncing with devices is easy, although must be done manually each time if changing between bluetooth outputs. + Several silicone options for customising the fit. - Poor fitting! The excessive depth of the unit means the centre of balance is outside the ear resulting in the unit falling out with even minor movement, like walking / commuting. - Battery life is poor and much shorter than advertised, even with limited usage. With a 'medium' battery level reported, they went flat within 15 minutes today. - Call quality is consistently unusable - the caller is unable to hear my voice clearly enough to maintain a conversation. - Usability is frustrating - in principle they should simple to use, but the charging station and devices buttons do not always activate correctly. Overall, these are entry level headphones with wireless connectivity added, and unfortunately the wireless functionality is not worth the additional cost. Due to poor battery, poor design and fit, and unusable call quality, I use my original wired headphones more often than these new wireless ones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Good sound quality, but lacking in other aspects

WF-1000X 17 May 2018 by zzkpt (USA)

I had the 1000X for 2 days, then I just had to return them. The sound is fine, although I got a scare when I got them working the first time connection to the phone was using SBC codec and sound quality was noticeably poor. I'm not sure what I did to fix that, but it was something in the Music Center app, or the Headphones app. The battery life, was fine for the use I had planed. The fit was good, never fell out of my ears and the seal was good too. Now, for the bad news, mine came with firmware v1.0.7 pre installed, no connection issues I can report on, but noise canceling I assure every one of you, is not a feature, at least with that firmware. No noticeable difference whether NC is ON or OFF. Now, for the really bad news, during video playback there was an awful amount of delay between image and sound, and that did it for me. I also own the WH-1000MX2 and a set of Apple Earpods (it's a bit unsettling to use these with an Android phone ahah) none of these have a noticeable delay, as such I cannot live we the shortcomings of the WF 1000X

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

When I got these I was amazed

WF-1000X 12 May 2018 by Blaine (USA)

When I got these I was amazed by the sound and how slim the carrying case/charger case

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Sound! Bad product itself.

WF-1000X 10 May 2018 by gabrielmcosta (USA)

I'm using the for the last 2 weeks. The sound is really amazing but it's almost impossible to finish a song without the sound drop at least once on right earbud. I'm thinking in refund them, what is sad because I love the design and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Product does not deliver

WF-1000X 10 May 2018 by Di2018 (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this product. However one ear phone does not work and to date Sony has provides no support as claimed in its product guarantee.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

VERY DISAPPOINTING

WF-1000X 08 May 2018 by Disappointed2018 (USA)

Just purchased this and am very disappointed in the battery life, the fact that you can't do/listen with only one in your ear at a time. I wanted to be able to use the right bud and keep my left ear available for land line phone calls. Can't.... Also, the volume is on my cell phone and not the buds themselves.....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very comfortable. Good sound.Bad battery life.

WF-1000X 05 May 2018 by Zaxdad (USA)

I really enjoy the comfort and the sound is okay for a wireless earbud. I'm only getting a little over an hour on a charge

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 03 May 2018 by Obro (United Kingdom)

I got this as a gift and enjoy every bit of it. It has the occasional sound drop out but it does not spoil the listening experience. It has good sound quality too for a product that size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 27 April 2018 by Pamster (United Kingdom)

I bought these for travel but when I opened the box and Googled the product they can only be charged via a computer. The instructions specifically say not to charge by the mains. AS I properly travel into very remote areas they are useless to me!

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Battery Life needs improvement!

WF-1000X 26 April 2018 by endzoneUK (United Kingdom)

I bought these to work out with and for travel but have found that the stated 3 house battery life depends on what you are doing with them. I have never managed to get 3 hours battery life from them and after contacting Sony support, was told that it depends on what you are doing to obtain 3 hours battery life. Sadly, it seems using the main functionality of these, ie, noise cancelling, sill reduce the battery life considerably. The best I have achieved is 2 hours but I am told this is quite normal. Sony need to sort this out as they are useless on a long journey without several charges.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound. Love the sound, the design too

WF-1000X 26 April 2018 by LLaw (USA)

I have been using the pair I bought for about a month now. I love the comfort when using them. The sound is good maybe even great. Bass is sufficient, of course, I don't expect anything of this size to offer a chest-pounding bass. Noise cancellation does work well enough. My gripe however, is that YouTube videos experiences lag and latency up to almost 2 seconds at time most of the time its about 1. Twitter videos seem slightly better just milliseconds of latency and is not at all annoying. The noise cancelling cuts of and on while switching apps. Lastly, the right bud do lose connection even when not moving and while my phone is in direct path to the right bud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DO THESE WORK WITH VIDEO NOW?!

WF-1000X 18 April 2018 by dcbaker (USA)

Ok, maybe I'm overly optimistic but, my headphones are starting to work with video (meaning no lag) now and they haven't been doing that before. Is this something you guys are working on? Other than that, my only complaint is sometimes the connection drops when I'm walking around campus. Solid product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Terrific Travel

WF-1000X 14 April 2018 by normanfgreen (United Kingdom)

Not my first wireless earbuds but the first with active noise cancelling. Tested that on the tube last week. Great sound (excellent for my 67 year old ears) and wonderful noise cancelling. Putting buds into case is very positive. Fooled me at first (so did not charge) but now I have a two-click technique, I know the earbuds are secure and charging (which is reinforced with flashing indicators).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great sound, slightly flawed

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by Andwat120 (United Kingdom)

Bought these two weeks ago in gold. They sound great however are flawed because of a cheap feeling charging case and the headphones themselves whilst light and comfortable feel cheap. they also fit well with a good choice of tips. The right earpiece does tend to cut out from time to time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Dissapointed - especially for phone calls

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by Steve Wonder (USA)

Used it a few days now. I am dissapointed about the only left ear phone call ability. The sound qualitiy for phone calls is very poor. Even when using iPhone. I am not able to understand parts of the conversation. Bluetooth connection has many breaks either when listening to music or making phone calls (having my iPhone in the pocket). When calling with the Sony 1000X people I am talking with tell me the sound quality is really bad. Especially with background noise (in the car with open window, at the railway station..). Sound quality for music is decent but not great. Bass lacks a little bit and sometimes the right speaker has problems keeping in sync with the main one (which is the left ear piece). I would not buy it again - especially for this price!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Loses connection too easily

WF-1000X 12 April 2018 by sucunnuemammatua (USA)

overall I like the concept, and what it needs to be improved on is battery life (though they recharge quickly), and definetly the connectivity which is not seamless, as it cuts out when turning my head (at least when I pair it to either my samsung s8 or s5), also you can advert the noise cancelling is working, but I am not sure how effective it is in this implementation.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

No sound in right earphone during calls

WF-1000X 10 April 2018 by Keks88 (USA)

During calls right earphone has no sound. Any plans to fix it Sony?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Worst shop of headphones ever

WF-1000X 09 April 2018 by AVKM (USA)

I bought those at the airport before my trip to try them with the airplane noise. It was hopeless. It takes long to charge the batteries who last tops 3 hours and there's no difference between "ambient sound" and "noise cancelling" features. They are not even comfy to hav inside the ear.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Sound is best I have experienced but..............

WF-1000X 09 April 2018 by kst8er86 (USA)

Just bought these yesterday and going to give it a good trial before I decide what to do. First off though, the sound is the best I have experienced in any headphone, any style/type. Clear, crisp, good volume. Android app is excellent to fine tune experience and left side button is nice to have to be able to change listening experience. Contrary to some comments I have seen on here, the right ear piece does have a button you just click twice rapidly to advance to next song. The noise cancelling works well also. Nice solid seal and no outside noise for the most part. Now for the cons. On several occasions already I will hear a beep, temporary loss of bluetooth signal and then music comes back on. Also, there is an annoying half to full second lag with video or for example in my phone app, Poweramp, when I press to go to next song. Part of previous song is still playing when I am already in next song in cue. Finally, I realized when I bought these that they are not made to be sweat resistant. Most of the time I will use these is when walking or exercising. I think the most frustrating thing the sound is incredible, the price, considering its shortcomings, is a bit high. As I have looked around for other options I am finding there aren't a whole lot on the market. Ultimately. I think I will return these and either wait till the market opens up a bit or perhaps look in to the Jabra line.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wireless ear buds spoilt by noice cancelling

WF-1000X 07 April 2018 by Marsey76 (United Kingdom)

These ear buds are great. That is the bottom line. However the downside is the Noice Cancelling (NC). First the bad news. The NC offers nothing to improve these ear buds, they do a great job of isolating external sounds without it. For me it is just a gimmick and Sony would have been better making these earbuds cheaper without NC. Also, I have attributed the reported drop outs of the right ear bud to the NC. Without NC on the ear bud connection is rock solid. Put it on and the drop outs are frequent. Frustratingly NC is on by default and so you have to turn it off every-time you turn the ear buds on. Sony really needs to fix this in a future software drop. If I but a rubbish equaliser setting on it remembers this so why not other options I have selected. Now the good news. Even given the above problem I would still recommend these ear buds. The sound is clear, from delicate notes to heavier bass. At no point do they get overwhelmed by the amount of sounds being played and composed all the time. Putting some wired ear buds back in makes you realise how good the sound actually is. The design of the ear buds is also very good. They are light and very comfortable, and you can wear them for the full 3 hour charge without problem. The case and ear bud integration is also well thought out. Take the earbuds out and they turn on automatically. Put them back in the case and they start to charge. The case to me is not too large and easily fits in your pocket. It is also not very heavy. So if you want some great sounding wireless ear buds then these are great. If you want noise cancelling as well then maybe consider some over ears. But from various NC units I have used i don't feel there is any value in NC overall as a concept. Other options are available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Works as described

WF-1000X 07 April 2018 by Garry69 (United Kingdom)

I had in mind to use them while asleep, but they only play for three hours, then annoyingly they switch off and the phone takes over and annoys and wakes up the wife. Using them in the evening had the same effect,” what is that noise “, well, it was my phone, so to date I have not used them much, a great shame.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slightly disappointed

WF-1000X 05 April 2018 by NannyJulie (United Kingdom)

Finding the charging case clumsy to use as the buds do not always sit correctly and then do not charge.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

First review ever

WF-1000X 01 April 2018 by Thun75 (USA)

I have never left a review for any product I purchase or have ever used. I am a tech enthuiast so I consider myself someone that is familiar on different products. I have recently been on a true wireless kick. I have purchased Bose, Jabra and now these Sony. I have tried this Sony model for 3 days and sound quality is great. But one major deal breaker for me is the fact is that there is a lag when watching videos. I will most likely return them and stick to the Jabra elite 65t even though I believe these headphones have better features and sound quality. I might get the sony wf-sp700n when they finally decide to release them. I hope that newer model is better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

disappointment

WF-1000X 01 April 2018 by mino34 (USA)

Missing basses, disconnection issues, I returned them

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Potential great, marred by poor connectivity

WF-1000X 31 March 2018 by Abrar (United Kingdom)

The sound quality on these wireless buds is class leading. Unfortunately, that's where the fun ends - performance across the board: connectivity, stability, NC features, latency is all middling and erratic, even after the firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not quite great

WF-1000X 27 March 2018 by RedSigmund (United Kingdom)

They look nice, are very comfortable, and the sound quality is very good. They don't always turn on automatically out of the charging box, the connection between the two sometimes drops and the Noise cancelling could be better. They are innovative but need improvement.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Gen1 Product. Too Many Issues

WF-1000X 26 March 2018 by 82bj42 (USA)

I really wanted to like this earbuds. They're the perfect form factor. They aren't huge like Bose and don't look stupid like the Apple ones, but the microphone, connection, and watching videos are just too awful of an experience. Not many people talk about the microphone on bluetooth headsets. This is a key feature for me since I spend a lot of my day on the phone. Unfortunately these buds allow way too much background noise. I've basically given up on using them for calls. Second is the connection. I've upgraded the firmware. Dropouts came back within the first 5 minutes. It's basically made zero improvement for me. Finally video lag is the most maddening. It's downright deceptive to just not mention the issue on the product pages. I've seen the posts from the product team on here. Calling this a limitation of the technology is frankly lazy. If other products (i.e. Apple and Samsung) can have no lag when watching videos this product never should have been released with that issue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Awesome!

WF-1000X 24 March 2018 by AndyTVR (United Kingdom)

Bought these because of the noise cancelling feature which is great. Sound quality excellent. Only slight downside is that battery life is slightly shorter than advertised - I’ve only managed about 2.5 hours.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

VERY BAD DESIGN, REQUIRES A COMPUTER TO CHARGE

WF-1000X 22 March 2018 by past_sony_user (USA)

Why would any design products that require a computer to charge them. When traveling I don't want to lug around a large laptop. All I want is my phone, a small wall charger, and wireless noise canceling headphones. I need to charge then while on a long flight, during layovers at hotels, and at airports. The last thing I need is to carry extra stuff just to support a poor design. From what I can see all sony's headphones require an active (non hibernating) computer to charge the headphones. WHY? I own a sony TV, a sony DSLR, a sony Blue ray player and love them all; I think their design and build quality is far above the competition; but after reading the user manuals for their truly wireless and Bluetooth headphones I am completely turned off by their engineering.

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Only left earbud works for calls!

WF-1000X 21 March 2018  (USA)

Music plays stereo on both earbuds, whereas the calls and voice prompt feedbacks are only on the left earbud. I wasn't able to find any solution to this on the internet. Such a highly priced pair of earbuds should've been less problematic. I would appreciate if I receive any support/feedback from the users or support staff.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 18 March 2018 by SusieQube (United Kingdom)

Really good quality sound and they stay put and are very comfortable in my difficult to fit ears. However I’d like to be able to pause play from the earbuds if someone needs to talk to me as they take too long to turn off. Also the charge doesn’t really last very long and the sound drops out rather too often especially in the left ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very good product - eventually

WF-1000X 14 March 2018 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom)

I was initially disappointed with the bass response of the headphones but, with a lot of swapping of the earbuds I got there. sound is very clear and detailed. excellent mid range and (now) meaty bass response. Right ear does cut out briefly every now and then but it's no biggie. highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Effective Headphones

WF-1000X 12 March 2018 by William Wallace (United Kingdom)

If you don't want a full set of over ear phones these are great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0